In a Vase on Monday. 11. 08. 14

Season of  Mist   Wind and Mellow Fruitfulness. 
DSC_0003

I would prefer  to have called my vase  ‘Summer Breeze’ like Cathy’s at Wordsandherbs.  Unfortunately, it has been blowing a hoolie this week and this vase looks very autumnal. I am sure  we will have plenty of summer to come once Bertha has finished with us . I hope so anyway.

I  have used the lovely orange hips of Rosa glauca. I think I like this rose at this time of the year better than in  early summer. It has pretty single pink flowers but I think the hips look great with the glaucous blue leaves. The berries are from my black elderflower: Sambucus nigra.  The leaves lose  much of their blackness in late summer but I love the pink flowers in early summer and then the berries. The yellow flowers are from the bronze fennel: Foeniculum vulgare ‘Purpureum’.

After all I have said about not liking Daylilies I have to admit that I have a great pool of this orange one under some trees which lights up the area. I didn’t plant them but I am glad they are there . The name is: Hemerocallis fulva ‘Flore pleno.
IMG_0631

If you grow seeds of crocosmias you get some interesting offspring if you have several varieties in the garden.  This is a Crocosmia ‘Emily Mckenzie’ seedling which has almost finished flowering but the orange flowers have crimson markings at the centre which reflect the markings on the Hemerocallis.

IMG_0632

The big red and white dahlia is one of the children I grew from a lovely dark red ‘Bishop of Llandaff.’ Some of his offspring were a beautiful dark red, but this one is a bit strange, I don’t know what the other parent was, I haven’t any white ones in the garden.  I really don’t know what the Bish has been up to; he should be ashamed of himself.

The pale peach Hollyhock is not really a hollyhock at all, it is my very special  xAlcalthaea suffrutescens ‘Parkallee’. I will tell you all about it another day.  Right now I have to go out with my saw. Bertha has blown my favourite apple tree over.  It is at a very strange angle and blocking the path.
IMG_0625

Thank you to Cathy at ramblinginthegarden for hosting this fun meme.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. 11. 08. 14

  1. Kris P says:

    This is the 2nd time within a week that I’ve seen that Crocosmia, just as I’ve been pondering the addition of Crocosmia to one of my backyard beds – kismet maybe. I like the daylily too – it’s the 1st double daylily I’ve liked. I hope the apple tree survives and that Bertha leaves you alone for here on out. I never think of hurricanes striking the UK – does it happen often?

  2. snowbird says:

    I shut my eyes and cover my ears whenever autumn is mentioned! What a wonderful posy though, some lovely blooms in it, I would never have thought of adding elder.
    What a shame about your poor tree, it looks aged and I bet it produced hundreds of apples….think you may need something more than a saw to move that!!!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you, I am sorry to mention autumn but this constant wind feels very autumnal. I’ m sure we’ ll soon be back to summer again. The tree still has roots in the ground and so we will just cut off the branches blocking the path and then let it carry on growing at rather an odd angle. I couldn’t t bear to lose it, it is very old.

  3. Annette says:

    Oh my gosh, this is delightful, Chloris – all my favourite colours and you know there’s a touch of autumn to it. Bet you feel it too…it’s very early this year, isn’t it? I have crocosmias for the first time again this year – used to have Lucifer in Ireland and have settled for smaller varieties now. Isn’t the foliage of R. glauca amazing?!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you, Anette. I love crocosmias, there are some lovely new hybrids and it is easy to produce interesting hybrids yourself if you have a variety of colours in the garden..
      Rosa glauca has even bigger and better foliage if you cut it back in spring.

  4. Julie says:

    Your poor tree Chloris – I am glad to read that you think it will be ok. We were lucky yesterday to miss any damage – I have piled everything into the greenhouse that was loose so tomorrow I need to go out and sort it all out again. Your flowers are lovely – I too have reservations about daylillies but I have never dug up the clump we moved into so I must appreciate them. As for the Bish – what can I say?

    • Chloris says:

      This daylily is quite a common one but it is a huge clump and it brings a real glow to a gloomy area.I would never have thought of planting it there.
      The naughty bishop always surprises me with his children I am looking forward to seeing what he comes up with this year.

  5. AnnetteM says:

    I love the colours of your vase against the brick wall. It does look Autumnal with all those berries and rosehips, but I am sure there is still some summer left.

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Sorry about your Bertha and apple tree collision. Hope the tree bounces back. Your arrangement does reflect a bit of autumn. I really like those rose hips. There is a sense here also that alerts us fall is waiting in the wings.

    • Chloris says:

      The orange rose hips do look very autumnal. The hips of Rosa glauca always change colour very early. I love them against the blueish leaves. I do hope we still have more summer to come.

  7. Cathy says:

    Your vase is full of hints at autumn Chloris, but I’m sure once the howling winds have died down a few summer breezes will come your way too! I love these colours, and the rosehips look lovely in a vase. And I think that is probably the prettiest day lily I have ever seen! Hope the apple tree survives. 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      I am hoping the apple tree will be alright, even though half of its roots have come out of the ground.
      The day lily is a very common one but it is pretty. I don’ t know how long it has been there but it is a huge clump. Anything which brightens up the garden at this time of the year is useful.

  8. A beautiful vase, Chloris and definitely autumnal. It’s sad to think its round the corner, but I’m spotting the signals, and not just in the weather. I noticed that the white flowers of cyclamen hederifolium have just emerged, and sedums are starting to colour. Never mind, I’m sure summer’s not all over yet! You may have named my unknown Daylily – it looks very similar to your “Flore Pleno” . Your poor tree – I hope it survives!

  9. Cathy says:

    Looks as if the tree just missed your greenhouse – you sound hopeful of it surviving, so it will add extra character in its revised state. The south in all parts seems to have had the brunt of Bertha’s tail so I hope you are only moderately scathed. I did actually wonder about berries this morning, but nothing is ripe yet although there are lots of chunky hips to come on Parkdirektor. I think I need to check my crocosmia after seeing yours as I am sure I have EMc as well as Constance and perhaps it was the former I used. I know H fulva is as common as muck but I really like its orange ruffles even though I managed to dig out a little too much of it last year and she is currently sulking. The Bishop’s wayward child is a bright little spark, isn’t he? Definitely more than an autumnal hint to your vase, but mellow and fruitful with it, and at least you have assured us there is more summer to come! Thanks for joining in – and I added a link to your post from your comment as you omitted to include it 😉

  10. Chloris says:

    My Crocosmia is one of my seedlings of EMc. They are all different. The parent has more red on it than this one. It is amazing the variety you get if you try them from seed.
    We’ ve cut back the poor apple tree and fingers crossed. I hope it will be alright.

  11. Chloris your vase is so full and brimming with color. I love the use of rose hips with the daylily. A wonderful combo. I hope your garden is not too upended by the hurricane.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Donna. The rose hips on Rosa glauca always colour early. My poor apple tree is the worst victim of these winds. But everything is getting very blown about.

  12. Christina says:

    Lovely vase, the moment I saw it, before even reading your title I thought Autumn! Though it will be awhile before that arrives. The Rosa glauca hips are wonderful.

    • Chloris says:

      I’ m not in a hurry for autumn Christina, I wasn’ t even intending doing a vase, but I cut back the fennel and passed the rose and the daylilies on the way to the compost heap. Before I knew it I had a bunch of flowers in my hand. Any excuse to go in and get away from this wind!

  13. Flighty says:

    Looks good. Your comments on the Bishop made me smile. xx

  14. I do hope you apple tree survives Chloris, it would be a shame too lose it.
    Your vase looks great, just made to be displayed against the brick wall. It takes a good eye to make such an eyecatching display. We missed the worst of Bertha’s weather up here but we have not been without the wind and rain. It’s turned very cold up here.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Angie. This wind goes on and on I hate gardening in it. We have trimmed the branches of the apple tree that were blocking the path and left it. We have another old apple tree in our garden that was clearly blown over at some time but it is quite happy.

  15. Anna says:

    A most quietly glowing vase with a hint of autumn about it. I’m going to be hot footing it outside now to see if my rosa glauca has red hips yet Chloris. Sorry to read about the damage Bertha has inflicted on your apple tree. It looks as if it was a mature tree which makes it even sadder. Thanks for you suggestion on my recent ‘Tree Following’ post that my unidentified shrub could be cotoneaster lacteus. Cotoneaster had crossed my mind but had no idea which one. I just hope that it develops more in the way of berries.

  16. My crocosmia died over the winter and the corms I planted this spring are lost in the jungle of my garden. It will take a search and rescue mission this fall to see if they’re still alive. Your arrangement is beautiful! I wish all these storms would head to the drier parts of the world to spread the water wealth more.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Tammy. Crocosmias are quite tough; yours are probably in there somewhere. They are easy from seed and their offspring can be interesting.

  17. bittster says:

    I hope you post a picture of the ‘repaired’ tree, it looks to be such an interesting old mossy tree, I’d like to see the strange angle…. is it mulberryesque?
    The bouquet looks great, what a nice mix and so many interesting things in there. I’m not going to agree it’s autumnal, but it does have a real late summer look to it, which sounds much better to me as I continue through my end-of-summer denial.
    My rosa glauca seedlings have topped six inches this year, much better than last. I’ll be cutting armloads in another year or two.

    • Chloris says:

      The apple tree is very old. It is just going to have to spend the rest of its life lying down like the mulberry tree.
      Of course it’ s not autumn yet, we have plenty of summer to come.

  18. It’s a stunner, Chloris.
    I have that double orange day-lily too. I never cut it for an arrangement because to get a stem, I’d have to cut all the unfurled blooms, and I don’t want to waste them! Would they bloom once put in water?

  19. Great pics for your “In a Vase” post! Bright orange colors are perfect for a late summer boquet. I hope your tree will be OK!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Beth. I love orange at this time of the year too.
      I think the tree will be OK, it looks a bit odd, lying around like that, but we have sawn off the branches blocking the path.

  20. How beautiful! The lilies certainly give the display a gorgeous pop of colour.

  21. Annette says:

    well done too for getting a mention in Country Living – wow, you must be so excited and it’s well deserved, Chloris, you’ve such a beautiful blog 🙂

  22. Robbie says:

    “Bishop of Llandaff.” one of my favorites! Mine were a deep red that I wish I had put out this year, but I did not. The red is amazing + also the orange. I love orange in the garden this time of year. I can’t imagine not having orange in the garden in the fall! 🙂 love your vase-beautiful:-)

Leave a Reply

