GBBD July 2014

The 15 th July has come really quickly. There are so many blooms in the July garden so here are just a few which are delighting me at the moment.  I have a new camera and I am trying to get the hang of it so bear with me.

I think the stars of the garden are the lilies and the late flowering Clematis.  My big lily star at the moment is an oriental x trumpet cross Lilium ‘Robert Swanson’.  It smells divine and it is really showy and comes back each year.
DSC_0094
I am also very fond of the trumpet lily ‘Pink Perfection’ and I have it growing with the wonderful Diascia personata which I have shown you in an earlier post.
DSC_0142
There are plenty of gorgeous clematis in bloom now so picking a favourite is a problem but I love Clematis ‘Purpurea plena elegans’
DSC_0203
I will show you one more Clematis which I bought last year at Hampton Court Flower Show and I can’t remember its name. Please can anybody help me? I grow it with the David Austin rose ‘The Generous Gardener’ which is really vigorous and healthy.
DSC_0179
Other climbers which are at their best now include Jasmine ‘Clotted Cream’ It is fragrant of course and I love the colour.
DSC_0220
The most fragrant climber is Trachelospermum which has the most heavenly scent. I have three of them and I love the little starry flowers.
DSC_0044 Angie wrote about Summertime Blues in a recent post in Angie’s Garden Diaries. There are quite a few true blue flowers at the moment. The Agapanthus are just coming out and they will be at their best in a week or two.
DSC_0146
Bluer than blue is the gorgeous metallic Eryngium ‘Picos Blue’. I have a friend who doesn’t like this. What’s not to like?
DSC_0135
Platycodon grandiflorus are easy from seed and you can grow pink, blue or white ones. I love the pink but perhaps the loveliest is the blue one. When you look at the buds you can see why they are called Balloon flowers.
DSC_0157
I love Agastache for the July garden. I have an apricot one called Agastache ‘ Apricot Sunrise’.
DSC_0149
My latest one is a pink one called Agastache cana ‘Heatwave’ I love it. It has lovely flowers, aromatic foliage and is easy from cuttings.
DSC_0139
I planted Scabiosa ‘Chile Black’ and ‘Beaujolais Bonnets’ a couple of years ago. This year I am delighted to find I have a whole group of them in various shades of dark pink and almost black.
DSC_0132
I showed my Angel’s Fishing Rod; Dierama recently. It just gets better and better.
DSC_0198
Whoops,I need to get my trug and dead head those roses.

There are plants that bloom now which I don’t love so much but I am grateful for the colour they bring. Daylilies are not my favourites and I haven’t planted any. But there are some in the garden and they are welcome.

DSC_0169

DSC_0163
I have never been keen on red Kniphofias but this Kniphofia ‘Timothy’ is lovely growing with the white Campanula. Campanulas seed themselves all over the garden in blues and whites. They are always welcome.

DSC_0153
Another plant which has never been a favourite of mine is Hydrangea. But like Cathy at Ramblinginthegarden I love Hydrangea ‘Annabelle’.

DSC_0222 Hydrangea aspera’ Villosa’ is very unusual. It has huge felty leaves so it would go quite well in a tropical garden.
DSC_0186
I will finish with something very special. It is quite hardy but I prefer to pamper it in a pot. It is Codonopsis grey-wilsonii ‘Himal Snow’.
DSC_0221
Thanks to Carol of Maydreamsardens for hosting this popular meme.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to GBBD July 2014

  1. linniew says:

    Blue is the best in the garden and you have such a lot of it, although I like that Agastache Sunrise a lot too. I think of Eryngium as more gray but yours is really quite blue so I will have to rethink that plant. All is looking lovely!

  2. mrsdaffodil says:

    They are all beautiful, but I liked “Pink Perfection” with the Diascia especially. Funny, I came upon a plant sale quite unexpectedly today and bought a small Dierama.

    • Chloris says:

      Dieramas are lovely; so elegant. It might not flower straightaway. The ones I grow from seed take a year or two. Do you grow lilies? I love them. Pink Perfection is wonderful.

  3. Kris P says:

    You DO have a lot of gems at the moment. The lily at the top of the post is so perfect it almost doesn’t look real. The entrance of your Agapanthus just as mine are exiting is yet another sign of the difference in our 2 climates. Happy GBBD, Chloris!

    • Chloris says:

      Lily Robert Swanson is a real showstopper and it is even better this year than last . The fragrance spreads over a huge distance. I thoroughly recommend it.
      Yes my Agapanthus are just starting, I just love them to bits. I know that yours are going over but then look at all the other wonderful things you have to enjoy.

  4. All lovely flowers, every one. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Alain says:

    What a lot of very interesting plants. I like best Eryngium ‘Picos Blue’ – such a rich colour!

  6. Love the lilies. I have an orienpet that I planted last fall and it seems to be a dwarf – only about 2′ tall but one big flower bud on each stalk.

    • Chloris says:

      I am mad on lilies although lily beetle control here needs constant vigilance and is not for the squeamish. It is trial and error to find which ones will flourish and improve with age and which ones will dwindle away. Or maybe it just takes a bit more research.
      Orienpet are those giant lilies aren’ t they? I haven’ t tried them. Perhaps next year.

      • I think they are supposed to be giant, growing 4-5 feet their first year then getting bigger. But as I mentioned mine are dwarves, just 2 feet tall.

  7. gardenfancyblog says:

    Everything looks so lovely, Chloris! That Eryngium is incredibly blue — I’ve never seen it grown around here, and most of the sites that come up in a search are British. I just planted E. ‘Blue Hobbit’ this year, and I hope it turns out to be nearly as blue as yours. And I envy you the ability to grow jasmine outdoors. I have a star jasmine in a pot that goes in the basement all winter, but you have the real thing outdoors — I’m sure the fragrance must be heavenly. Thanks for sharing all your lovely blooms with us! -Beth

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Beth. I know many sorts of jasmine are not hardy and can only be grown in the house but Jasminum officinale ‘ Clotted Cream’ is perfectly hardy. In fact any Jasminum officinale is hardy, if you check it out you may find you can have it in your garden too.

  8. Nice job with the new camera! So much to enjoy here, but my favorites are the Agapanthus and the Eryngium. Love that shade of blue.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Both, I am still learning what it can do. I have only ever had a point and shoot camera up until now so it is a bit daunting.
      I love blue flowers too. The Eryngium is electric.

  9. Pauline says:

    Love the blue of your Eryngium, so beautiful. I’ve never been lucky with Dierama, wish I could grow them, but they disappear after one year! You have so many beautiful flowers, this is a wonderful time of year in the garden.

  10. I read this post, ticking as I went through “yep I’ll have that one, and that one, and that one”, your garden looks wonderful. Favourite? Well if you pushed really hard I would say the pink trumpet lily, or the scabious, or the agastache ……

    • Chloris says:

      The Scabious is great because it seeds so generously and bees and butterflies love it. Agastache is easy from cuttings, I’ m not sure how hardy it is because last winter wasn’ t really a test for hardiness just the ability to swim well.

  11. rusty duck says:

    You have some stunners there. We have very similar tastes Chloris. Day lilies, pokers and hydrangeas don’t float my particular boat either but I have inherited all of them. The day lilies have grown enormous this year and take up far too much room so will go. White hydrangeas are another thing entirely, especially paniculata which I adore. I’ll look out for ‘Annabelle’.

    • Chloris says:

      I love white Hydrangeas, I have another gorgeous one called Mme. Emile Mouillere but it is not out yet. I am also keen on Hydrangea paniculata ‘ Grandiflora’

  12. sueturner31 says:

    Some really nice plants there…I love Codonopsis …not seen yours before….I agree I always keep my C’ in a pot …would hate to lose it. 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      They are lovely aren’ t they? Which ones do you have?

      • sueturner31 says:

        I have C’ Lanceolata, a climber and beautiful. I keep the plants in pots ,a bit of a coward ,I daren’t put them in the ground, I have seed every year so I always have back up….. if you look on my front page it is on my rolling pictures.

  13. Flighty says:

    Lovely post and photos. It’s always good to see hydrangeas, especially one of the more unusual varieties. xx

  14. Your clematis looks like one that is native here, Clematis viorna. Common names incude leather-flower and vasevine. Love those lilies!

  15. Chloris says:

    Thank you Marion, I have just looked it up and that is what it looks like. I love these late flowering Clematis with little nodding bells.
    The lily Robert Swanson has an incredible fragrance , you can smell it from quite a distance.

  16. Cathy says:

    Hi Chloris – I was going to suggest the clematis was Buckland Beauty. I showed mine on the blog last year but it hasn’t flowered this year 😦 . I have recently been re-admiring C ‘Purpurea plena elegans’ and deciding where I could put it – isn’t it gorgeous?! As is the diascia, which is definitely on my wish list too! Lots of beauties in your post – thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      0h yes, I just checked and this must be it. It looks very like Clematis viorna that Marion mentioned but I think this is the one. Thank you Cathy. It has grown a lot in a year and I am so pleased with it.
      What I love about ‘Purpurea plena elegans’ is the fact that it is just a mass of flowers and it is a lovely colour.

      • Cathy says:

        Glad to be of help. The slugs or similar had the early growth on my BB this year but hopefully it will recover for next year – it amazes me that clematis will bide their time for a year or two and then suddenly pick up again. I have a couple of others I thought had died but when I dug them out there was a hint of life so I potted them up and they have sent out fresh shoots.

  17. Cathy says:

    All lovely Chloris. I envy you the Dierama. I tried growing some, but just don’t have the right position for one. Sigh!

  18. Chloris says:

    They need a sunny spot and soil that is not water logged in winter but that doesn’ t dry out. They are very easy from seed so you could always try them in different places.

  19. Thanks for visiting my blog earlier today. Your gardens look lovely–you have a lot of things I’ve not seen before, and several things I can’t grow because it gets to cold in my region of the US. I like the name “Angel’s Fishing Rod!” So apt! Those dark purple scabiosa are just lovely–I have blue. I love balloon flower, too–it’s one of the best, longest bloomers in my garden! I have both short and tall cultivars, the tall having come from the garden of my best friend.

    • Chloris says:

      That is the great thing about blogging, I really enjoy seeing what people grow in different parts of the world. I enjoyed reading your post and seeing your lovely flowers.

  20. Love the blues, purples and peaches…they must look stunning next to each other…happy gbbd

  21. snowbird says:

    So many beautiful blooms, especially those vibrant blues! I have a new camera too and simply can’t figure it out, you seem to have yours sorted! Lily beetle has destroyed my lilies, yours are stunning!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      I love blues too.
      I am struggling with my camera but I am trying to take a few photos every day to try and get the hang of it. I have at last learnt that if you don’ t take the lens cover off you can’ t take any photos. This took me ages to figure out.
      I love lilies but I have to squash lily beetles every single day. As an animal lover you may have a problem with this. Of course by now, any that have managed to hide from me have laid their eggs and the larvae are concealed in a big dollop of poo. Even I draw the line at squashing these with bare hands.

  22. Denise says:

    Wonderful July garden — especially jealous of that codonopsis!

  23. pbmgarden says:

    Your have lots of beautiful blooms Chloris. I really like those dramatic, dark-colored Scabiosa.

  24. First of all, a big thank you for the mention Chloris 🙂
    Isn’t Timothy lovely. He’s flowering for the first time in my garden this year and I wasn’t sure I was going to like it but I love it!
    As always I leave your blog full of much more inspiration than I had before I started reading. Wonderful!

  25. Chloris says:

    Thank you Angie and I am a big fan of your blog. I have never particularly liked Pokers but Timothy is such a lovely colour, he lights up the garden.

  26. bittster says:

    Such a collection of summertime color, I love it. I’m also not all that crazy about daylilies, but they sure do put out plenty of color at this time of year and I may have to ask for a few divisions back from ones I’ve evicted from the garden!
    I feel a lily phase coming on. Yours are so nice I feel my resolve cracking…. I saw your comment about the orienpets, your “Robert Swanson” is an orienpet, they’re any oriental-trumpet cross, and I think they’re the ones I will likely fall for first!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Frank and yes you are right about Robert Swanson I had completely forgotten that this is what it is, no wonder it gets bigger and better every year. . The fragrance is astonishing and travels such a distanc Next year I need more orienpets!

  27. Anna says:

    A most interesting and eye-catching array of July blooms Chloris. I’m with Cathy in thinking that your clematis is ‘Buckland Beauty’. I’ve added lily ‘Pink Perfection’ to my wish list 🙂

  28. Chloris says:

    Thanks Anna, I’ ve made a note of the name so that I don’ t ask you again next year.
    Pink Perfection is lovely and smells divine.

  29. Patrick says:

    Well hello to another passionate gardener,

    What a beautiful bevy of blossoms you’re sharing via May Dreams Garden. That diascia dancing through ‘Pink Perfection’ is the type of combo all of us are trying to achieve, so congrats on the nice pairing. Love the bell-shaped clematis and I hope you find its name. But the prettiest of the bells that you should try is the cobalt blue ‘Roguchi’. Think it’s my favorite plant ever.

    I’d be honored if you visited my blog to see my first GBBD post, only five years in the making, with a truly unique backstory,

    Best,

    Patrick

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you for visiting and commenting Patrick. I have seen photos of Clematis Roguchi and thought it looked stunning. I will look out for one. I am off to look at your blog now.

Leave a Reply

