In a Vase on Monday. White Foam.

IMG_0203
Inspired by the white garden at Sissinghurst and a recent wedding I couldn’t resist filling my Port Meirion jug with foamy white with green highlights this week.

The green bobbles are Dianthus barbatus ‘Green Trick’ which are rather fun for an arrangement. I grow them because I love green flowers. The other green is the ever reliable, ever useful, Alchemilla mollis .

The froth is Ammi majus, the spikes are white delphiniums and Campanula alliariifolia ‘Ivory Bells’ with a Hosta flower. In the centre is the last ‘Iceberg’ rose.

To the left there is a white Campanula persicifolia. These seed all over the garden in blue and white. This is the only one I could find as they have almost finished now. The little starry flowers to the left of this is the last spray of Clematis recta ‘Purpurea’. By the jug handle there is a little bit of Clematis  ‘Alba luxurians’ which I can never quite make up my mind about. The flowers are twisted and edged with green . There is a little bit of honeysuckle for fragrance and that is it. It is sitting in the birdbath in the first photo.
And for the next photo I  brought it inside so that we can enjoy it in the dining room  over dinner.
IMG_0207
Cathy at Ramblinginthegarden has got everyone picking their flowers and putting them in vases. Do join in, it is fun. If you go over there you will see what everyone else has been up to.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. White Foam.

  1. Laurin Lindsey says:

    Beautiful! I love white flowers : )

  2. Julie says:

    Just beautiful Chloris – what a great addition to your evening meals. That arrangement really does shout Sissinghurst and you have a great selection of green and white flowers. I have a lot of white but need to work a bit harder on the green.

  3. pbmgarden says:

    An abundance of beautiful flowers. I like the green and white theme you have going here. That Dianthus barbatus ‘Green Trick’ is something I will have to search for and your white delphinium especially are lovely.

    • Chloris says:

      The Delphiniums were side flowers, I wouldn’t t have been able to bring myself to pick the main spikes. The Dianthus is great for flower arrangement, specially if you like green flowers as I do. Some people hate it I know.

  4. snowbird says:

    Well, you have just picked some of my favourite flowers there! What a beautiful display….now, if you look again you will see lots of white horses..especially if you look to the left of the posy.xxx

    • Chloris says:

      White horses! You are seeing them everywhere! I love your paintings of white horses in your latest post. Specially the one on the left.

      • snowbird says:

        Lol…I know,,,I am seeing white horses everywhere, but I did see lots in your beautiful posy.I bet you see them too! I’ll paint them one day for you.xxx

  5. Jane Strong says:

    My mouth just dropped open when I saw this. Stunning and very appealing! I thought you would have had enough of flowers in vases for a while after the wedding.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jane. I think it was the wedding which inspired me to do a white arrangement. That and going to Sissinghurst a couple of weeks ago and seeing the white garden there.

  6. Kris P says:

    The chartreuse elements give the white flowers an extra zing. I love the combination. Seeing it, I began to wonder why I haven’t done anything with white flowers myself before I realized that I don’t actually have many pure white flowers in my garden. I’ll have to remedy that next year.

  7. Alain says:

    Very nice! It is at the same time very light and very substantial which creates a contrast while the restricted palette takes care of the harmony. I like it very much.

  8. Annette says:

    Summer’s splendour, Chloris! How I’d love to have this bouquet on my table 🙂

  9. Very flouncy and fun!!

  10. Flighty says:

    I like that, all the more so as I like white flowers. xx

  11. bittster says:

    Ha ! This arrangement chases away the heat and humidity and makes me want to snuggle into clean linens and enjoy a cool seaside breeze. Can flowers do that ?
    My garden is going all hot and bold for the summer and the green and white is refreshing 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      I think colour can influence mood. White is lovely and cooling. Unfortunately we don’ t need cooling here. We have had a strong north wind blowing all day. I hate it and so do my poor plants.

  12. Julie says:

    I am a hopeless flower arranger, but if I ever learn, this will be exactly the type of arrangement I would be delighted to design, its just beautiful.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you, Julie, but it is easy to select some flowers which look good together and plonk them in a vase. That’ s all I do. I can’ t be bothered to arrange them.

  13. Cathy says:

    This is lovely and light, both in feel and colour, and foam is the perfect word for it! Reminds me of cool water and seaside breezes, with frothy sea water washing over my toes! Or am I just dreaming of cool weather! 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Ammi is great for creating a frothy effect.
      Is it still hot with you? We have had a north wind blowing all day. I hate it. I would like a bit of baking hot weather. With a nice rain at night of course.

      • Cathy says:

        We seem to get a few days of rain and then it heats up again… warming up next week we are told! Hope you get some nice warmth too. 🙂

  14. As a someone whose flowering arranging skills amount to chop and shove in a vase, I am very impressed by this vase. It looks so natural and relaxed and easy (but I know that it isn’t), just lovely!

  15. Chloris says:

    Chop and shove in a vase is what I do too. But I try to select flowers which look good together. You could do that; none better.

  16. What a beautiful colour combination – so cool and fresh! I love all the whites with lime green. I plan to grow some Ammi majus, and will now probably add that dianthus to the list too!

  17. Chloris says:

    Ammi is wonderful for flower arrangements. I also grow Orlaya grandiflora which is similar and lovely too.

  18. That’s really pretty, I love bright green with white, so fresh.

  19. AP says:

    Hello Chloris

    These arrangements are beautiful. I too love green flowers and have been trying to no avail to find green trick seeds or plants. Can you please tell me where you got yours from as I would like to grow them too. Google gives results for Sarah Raven, Thompson & Morgan etc but they are all no longer available. Thanks for your help

    • Chloris says:

      I bought these last year as plug plants, I don’ t think you can grow it from seed as it doesn’ t have proper flowers. I think I bought them from Sarah Raven. Like you I have been unable to source any this year. Sorry I can’ t be any more help. They are great for flower arranging.

      • AP says:

        thank you so much for your reply. They do seem to be hard to find. They look so interesting in the arrangements.

Leave a Reply

