In a Vase on Monday. Mellow Yellow.

IMG_9862Again I am joining in with Cathy’s meme. I think everyone who has joined in is finding it a bit addictive. I have a busy week this week and haven’t really the time. But having a quick walk round the garden I found myself thinking that the Lupin was a perfect match for the Alstroemeria and how lovely they would look with the Pilgrim rose and some cream Aruncus and then  I just had to try it. See what you have done to us Cathy. We are all planning cutting gardens now.
IMG_9852

Apart from arranging them, the problem is trying to get a decent photograph when you are in a hurry. You get a really good shot and then realise your pile of ironing is visible in the corner.
I haven’t got time to fiddle about today, so the first one is without flash and looks a bit washed out. The next shot is with the flash and that is not right either. But at least you can’t see my ironing pile.
IMG_9831
The flowers are the David Austin rose:’The Pilgrim’, Alstroemeria, Lupin, Digtalis lutea which is a perfect match for the lupin although you can’t quite see that on the photo. I have used a yellow Phlomis and some little buttons of my Santolina. The creamy froth is Goat’s beard: Aruncus dioicus The iris is the wild Iris foetidissima which pops up every where, but I don’t mind, it is rather pretty. I have used some of my dainty white Clematis recta, a yellow Evening primrose, and a spray of the invasive Lysimachia which no one in their right mind would plant. I have it because it was in with a lovely Hosta that a friend gave me. It is by the big pond and so it can romp away if it wants. Their is a little spray of white candytuft which seeds itself each year in the front garden; I was going to use my Orlaya grandiflora which is wonderful for flower arranging but I am saving it for a big occasion this weekend. There is a little spray of Anthemis ‘Sauce Hollandaise’.

The foliage is a frothy Euphorbia and,  Physocarpus opulifolius ‘Dart’s Gold. I have reused the Briza  media ‘Limouzi’ and the Stipa gigantea from last week.

Why don’t you go over to ramblinginthegarden and see what everyone else is putting in a Vase on Monday?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Mellow Yellow.

  1. Annette says:

    Just delightful and it shows your great eye for combining colour and form, Chloris. The Aruncus adds a cheeky touch, I love it!

  2. What a beautiful arrangement. I can’t arrange flowers in a vase to save my life, so I am deeply in awe of your talent. I agree with Annette – the Aruncus is a brilliant touch!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Sarah, but I am sure you can arrange flowers anyone can, as long as you pick colours that look good together. Why don’ t you join in next Monday?

  3. Nell Jean says:

    Your bouquet is lovely. I enjoyed so much the Bloom Day post with all the well-coordinated plants. I rarely fill a vase except to bring in a gardenia or two. Or three.

  4. Flighty says:

    Lovely, yellow is one of my favourite flower colours.

  5. igardendaily says:

    So gorgeous! I want to do this on one of these Monday’s! I love your combination. Love the roses and lupine and the candy tuft just looks perfect there with everything!

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful arrangement Chloris! Nice color combinations and amazing variety of materials.

  7. Kris P says:

    I love this arrangement, Chloris! My favorite color in a variety of incarnations. Looking at it is like a speed tour of your garden. I wish I could grow all those plants here on the far side of the area across the pond.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes and I wish I could grow some of the amazing plants in your garden Kris.
      I am very fond of the soft yellow of The Pilgrim rose. I love the Alstroemeria too, I don’ t know its name someone gave it to me.

  8. Cathy says:

    Done in a hurry….?! It’s lovely Chloris – and The Pilgrim is definitely tugging at my heartstrings… The minor players in the vase play a brilliant supporting role – as Sarah says, you have a natural talent. Thanks for making time to join in.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cathy, that is very kind of you. Yes, it really was done in a hurry.
      The Pilgrim is a great rose, it is very healthy and happy to climb into a tree.

  9. Cathy says:

    I think you picked a good word in your title to describe this… a mellow, cool and elegant arrangement Chloris! You’ve got some perfect colour combinations there. 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cathy. I don’ t much like bright yellow, but this soft yellow is lovely. It would have looked good with some of your frothy ground elder flowers!

  10. Julie says:

    I can tell that you are hooked Chloris – there will be a cutting patch in your garden very soon! You have picked a beautiful combination of flowers this week and well done for fitting it into your very busy schedule. Good luck with your event.

  11. Chloris says:

    Thank you Julie. Yes I am thinking about a cutting garden for next year. Any excuse to dig up some more lawn and grow more plants.
    Thank you for the good luck, it is going to be a very special weekend.

  12. bittster says:

    I also love the colors, the pilgrim is such a nice blend of soft yellow on the outside and darker centers…. And you can never go wrong with a lupine!
    I did look for the laundry and was a little disappointed not to find it 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      No, I didn’ t use the photo with the laundry, a pity it was the best shot. I’ m always doing a similar thing in the garden, I take a great photo then notice the hose snaking across the lawn or a full wheellbarrow ruining the shot.

  13. That is a beautiful rose – a lovely shade of yellow! I maybe will have to rethink my stance on yellow roses. Goats Beard is not a plant I particularly like in the garden, but it certainly works well in the vase. You’ve started me thinking about the white Sanguisorba I have, just starting to flower. That could work well with roses – watch this space! Have a lovely weekend!

    • Chloris says:

      I don’ t like all yellow roses but this one is such a soft yellow and so strong and healthy. Sanguisorba would be lovely with roses, Great idea!

  14. Christina says:

    Lovely soft colour combination Chloris,, you’re right this meme has us all working so hard to produce a vase for Monday. The cutting garden, bed or patch is certainly the thing this year, and so many of us didn’t want to pick our flowers before and now were changing our minds about that. What I love is that everyone’s vase is so different, such fun!

    • Chloris says:

      It is fun, Christina, I never meant to join in but now I go round the garden eying my plants wondering which ones would look good together.

  15. Robbie says:

    I am still laughing from your comment about taking a photo of flowers in a picture and notice your laundry in the background-too funny! Amazing flowers….I need remember to bring flowers inside!

  16. Chloris says:

    I never used to like picking my flowers but you get to look at them far more if they are in a vase on the table.

  17. I’ve planted a cutting garden also! I like that Alstroemeria in the center of that arrangement.

  18. I love that rose. Funny, for years I have said I dislike yellow roses but now I am longing for this one and keep finding my eye caught by others with either a soft creaminess or a pure innocent yellow. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

