Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. June.

I am joining Carol at May Dreams Gardens for Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day this month to show some of the special treasures which are delighting me at the moment. First a drum roll for Cypripedium reginae.

Cypripedium reginae

Cypripedium reginae

I bought this last year, I don’t like to even think about how much it cost and I was worried that I would never see it again. But it has increased in size and looks very healthy. I also spent a small fortune on Cypripedium kentuckiense last year and that too has come back to delight me again.

Cypripedium kentuckiense

Cypripedium kentuckiense

As it’s June I have to show a rose or two. I am rose mad and grow them up every available tree. The David Austin rose ‘The Pilgrim’ grows up an apple tree. It is a very soft yellow which darkens in the centre.

rosa 'The pilgrim'

Rosa ‘The pilgrim’

I love the Hybrid Musk Rosa’Buff Beauty’.
IMG_9516

I have a very vigorous soft pink rambler ‘Felicite et Perpetue’ which quickly scrambles to the top of a tree. I thought I would try growing one from seed to see what its children would look like. I just kept one seedling and grew it on and now after five years it is flowering. I don’t know who the father was but the offspring is creamy white.

My rose

My rose

My rose.

My rose.

This year every flower seems to be full of pollen beetle. It is the worse year for them that I can remember.

I love delphiniums and grow quite a few. I know they need staking and feeding and protecting from slugs but I think they are worth the effort. My favourite is a neat double one called Delphinium elatum ‘Alice Artindale’. Even if you don’t like double flowers I think you will fall for this one. It is delightful. As the flowers mature they become pinkish.
IMG_3307

Whilst I was gardening yesterday I was very aware of the most awful smell and I wondered if an animal had died in the amongst the plants. I had completely forgotten that I had planted a Dracunculus vulgaris which looks quite exotic but smells very vulgar indeed.

Dracunculus vulgaris

Dracunculus vulgaris

I am pleased with this combination of Verbascum ‘Helen Johnson’ and Bupleurum ‘Bronze beauty’ with a blue Geranium, I can’t remember is it ‘Johnson’s Blue’?
IMG_4290
I try to avoid growing too many of the big furry Verbascums because they are always eaten by the Mullein Moth.
IMG_9800
By the little pond I have been enjoying Iris sibirica ‘Butter and Sugar’.

Iris sibirica 'Butter and Sugar'

Iris sibirica ‘Butter and Sugar’

I am looking after Iris sibirica ‘Sparkling Rose’ for Suffolk Plant Heritage so I have to take extra good care of it so that it can be propagated.

Iris sibirica 'Sparkling Rose'

Iris sibirica ‘Sparkling Rose’

I also have the large, lilac flowered Iris sibirica ‘Roanokes Choice’ which has flowers which don’t look like those of a sibirica at all.
IMG_9642
One last iris is the gorgeous black Iris chrysographes that I bought at Hampton Court Flower Show last year.

Iris chrysographes

Iris chrysographes

I love the pink Mimulus ‘Highland Red’ that grows so well in the damp by the pond.
IMG_9755
Here is the other side of the pond.
IMG_9647
Further down towards the summer house I love the frothy effect of the Crambe cordifolia which grows absolutely huge.

Crambe cordifolia with Stipa gigantea

Crambe cordifolia with Stipa gigantea

I love the white frothiness contrasted with the dark smoke bush; Cotinus coggyria ‘Royal Purple’.
IMG_9506
Nearer the house I love this large Aquilegea growing with Paradisea liliastrum
IMG_9497
Behind it is a yellow flowered Potentilla which I dislike because it is so late coming into leaf and it has such economical little leaves. But I forgive it when it is in bloom.IMG_9638
The grass is the lovely Briza media ‘Limouzi’.
You can just see the pink variegated sage on the left of the above photo: Salvia officinalis ‘Tricolor’.  With this I have Anthemis tinctoria ‘Sauce Hollandaise.’

IMG_9767
Moving on from here is one of my favourite Campanulas. I love all Campanulas but this is a striking colour. It is Campanula ‘Sarastro’. I grow it with x Halimiocistus wintonensis.
IMG_9764 I love the maroon blotch and it it goes nicely with the little Viola cornuta ‘Jackanapes.’
IMG_9814
There are so many lovely Clematis out at the moment but I will just show you one The delicate Clematis recta ‘Purpurea’. which is growing through my open spider gate.
IMG_9821

The front garden is at its best right now but this post has gone on far too long so I will save the blooms there for another day.

I will finish with an introduction to the garden’s latest inhabitant. He lives next door because he gets fed there and visits here because he has fallen in love with the fine reflection in the window. Either that or he is very nosy.
IMG_9393

Thank you to Carol at maydeamgardens for hosting this meme. Please pop over and see other peoples’ June blooms.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. June.

  1. Pauline says:

    Heavans Chloris, pheasants in the garden is bad enough, but Peacocks!! How much damage does he do just with his long tail trailing after him?
    You have so many beautiful plant combinations, your garden must be looking very pretty now.
    Your Iris with the flat top almost looks as though it could be an I. ensata instead of I. sibirica, it’s so pretty, maybe it has mixed up parenting!

    • Chloris says:

      The peacock doesn’ t live here. He doesn’t mess up my flower beds because he only pops in to gaze through the French windows. He spends hours transfixed by his reflection. It is a bit unnerving if you are inside having his beady eye on you all the time.
      I love this Iris but I only know that it is a sibirica I don’ t know where it came from or who bred it.

  2. bittster says:

    Beautiful but the lady slippers really steal the show. I’m embarrassed to say they’re native to this side of the US and I’m still to chicken to give them a go!

  3. Alain says:

    You certainly have quite a few treasures in bloom. I am surprised once again to see what blooms at the same time regardless of the weather or the continent. Lady slippers and Siberian irises are also blooming here but roses and many of the plants you show (for instance Cranbe) are not open yet.
    You have some very beautiful plants.

    • Chloris says:

      Ah, but you have your roses all to come then, how wonderful. They are very early here this year and they are rushing on far too fast. Last year they were only just starting to come out at this time and now a lot of them are past their best.

  4. Rose says:

    What a beautiful visitor in your garden! So many lovely blooms, and I love all your plant combinations, but I must say that black iris is gorgeous! Happy Bloom day!

    • Chloris says:

      He is lovely but I think he must be quite young as he hasn’ t got his long tail feathers yet. Thank you for your comment and thank you for visiting. I’ m off to have a look at your blog now.

  5. AnnetteM says:

    You certainly have some wonderful plants – some of which are new to me. I really love the Iris sibirica Butter and Sugar -it is a lovely colour and looks great with the ferns. Your garden must look so good just now.

  6. Chloris says:

    Thank you Annette. I love Iris Butter and Sugar. In fact I love all the sibiricas. I just wish they would last a bit longer. These are the last of mine, the others have been and gone.

  7. rusty duck says:

    Hmmm. What’s The Vicar going to say about his new rival then?
    Lovely post Chloris, full of wonderful things. I love the Crambe/Cotinus combo. I have tried so many times to grow Verbascum ‘Helen Johnson’ and never got it through winter. You’ve tempted me to have a go at a slipper orchid though!

  8. Chloris says:

    Thank you Jessica,. The Vicar has gone walk -about, I haven’ t seen him for ages. Perhaps he has eloped.
    I can’ t keep Helen Johnson either, but I was so pleased with the effect of this grouping that I bought a new one this year. I wonder why she is so difficult when other verbascums seed around so happily.
    Yes, do have a go with the orchid. The trick is to make sure that it never dries out.

  9. Kris P says:

    You garden fits my image of heaven, Chloris. The terrestrial orchids are very pretty. I love the roses, the delphiniums, the clematis and pretty much everything , except perhaps the Dracunculus and the peacock. (My visitor has, thankfully, not returned – dealing with peacocks as well as raccoons would be just too much to bear.) I’m also VERY impressed that you grew a rose from seed. Happy GBBD!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Kris perhaps the Dracunculus was a mistake so near to the house. As for the peacock, so far he has been very well behaved. As I said he only comes here to gaze at himself in the window. A pastime he never seems to tire of.
      I am very pleased with my little rose. It is not the most beautiful rose ever, in fact it is a bit shaggy but as it is my own rose I love it. I have arranged a few marriages this year amongst my roses so maybe in years to come I will have more beautiful ones to show.

  10. hoehoegrow says:

    Lots of your plants are on my wish list, now, Chloris ! You have some lovely combinations too, I love Crambe Cordifolia with the Cotinus. They really complement each other. I also love Iris Siberica ‘Butter and sugar’. Oh, it’s just too hard to choose favourites … 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      And I find it hard to find favourites amongst your lovely roses Jane, they are all gorgeous. The Crambe cordifolia looks heavenly growing amongst roses. Elsewhere in the garden I have it with pink roses.

  11. Cathy says:

    So much to love – including your yellow raspberries. I don’t know that clematis that is tangling itself up in your gate and am off to look it up now.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cathy. Clematis recta ( not rectum as my ex- husband used to insist on calling it) is a real star. It does need to be properly supported though or it flops.

  12. The lady slippers are outstanding – they look very healthy and happy. I like white roses so i am partial to your baby rose. That Clematis recta is very lovely as well.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes thank goodness the orchids have survived. I don’ t know if they can cope with a real winter we had hardly any frost at all last winter. I do hope I will be able to keep them.
      Thank you for liking my baby rose , I am a very proud parent. { Or should I say foster mother) I think it is sweet and it is full of buds.
      Clematis recta is well worth looking out for.

  13. pbmgarden says:

    Iris chrysographes grabbed my attention right away. Really like that. Also the colors in the combination you featured of Verbascum ‘Helen Johnson’ and Bupleurum ‘Bronze beauty’ with a blue Geranium are outstanding together.

    • Chloris says:

      Iris chrysographes is fabulous and has already increased in size.
      I am pleased with the colour combination of blue and coppery orange. Unfortunately I have to keep buying Verbascum Helen Johnson because she doesn’t t survive the winter here.

  14. What a floral delight Chloris! Your orchids are great and I’m so pleased for you and your pocket that they returned 🙂
    I’m not a fan of shrubby Potentilla but do like how you have it there with it’s neighbours. It’s a pretty little scene.
    I’ve just been given a small clump of I. chrysographes, I’m hoping it likes my garden.
    Happy Bloom Day 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Angie. I don’ t like the Potentilla and every winter I resolve to get rid of it. It stays bare so long and has such horrible little leaves. But then it covers itself with flowers and I change my mind.
      I think you will love your Iris chrysographes , it is a gorgeous thing and it doesn’t t seem too fussy.

  15. jenhumm116 says:

    Wow Chloris, so much to take in.
    Many lovely combinations, but I’m particularly struck with the verbascum/bupleurum pairing. I think my Calendula Bronze Beauty I’ve just been blogging about would fit right in!

  16. Cathy says:

    It all looks lovely Chloris – isn’t June a wonderful month! I love the verbascum with the blue geranium together, and your pond area looks so pretty! The white clematis is gorgeous too!

    • Chloris says:

      Yes I love June in the garden with so much to enjoy and particularly the roses. I like the orange and blue combination of the Verbascum and the Geranium and I am mad on the bronze Bupleurum .

  17. All looking splendid, you have some wonderful plants!

  18. jenhumm116 says:

    Oh Chloris – I’ve just discovered Plant World Seeds looking for your Bupleurum ‘Bronze Beauty’.. Now i’m really in trouble (58 aquilegias! 73 geraniums!) and it’s all your fault….;-)

    • Chloris says:

      Oh dear, I’m sorry. I know, Plant World Seeds have far too many things you simply can’t do without. I have the same problem every year. This year I have been quite restrained but I am already planning next year.

  19. Jo says:

    A beautiful garden, beautiful blooms and a beautiful visitor. I’m very taken with the Butter and Sugar iris, very understated and elegant.

  20. Annette says:

    Much to admire and bravo for growing a rose (and a pretty one too) from seed, I’d be too impatient I guess. Buff Beauty is nice as well, Félicité & Perpétue are always in my gardens but they do not always look the same. I love Crambe but mine made babies instead of flowers this year.

    • Chloris says:

      Well next year you will be able to have Crambe all round the garden. It is wonderful with roses. I am thrilled with my little rose and keen to try growing some more.

  21. Anna says:

    Some most attractive June blooms. Rosa ‘Chloris’ is a ravishing beauty. If only there were not so many molluscs about I would be rushing out to find delphinium ‘Alice Artindale’. She does look rather special.

  22. Chloris says:

    Rosa Chloris, I hadn’ t actually thought of a name for her. Perhaps that is what I will call her.
    Alice Artindale is absolutely gorgeous. She doesn’t t set seed as she is a double and I always forget to take cuttings. She is quite difficult to find, I bought her from Beth Chatto years ago but I don’ t think she lists her anymore.

  23. What a magnificent display! Your roses are lovely, especially Rosa “Chloris”! She’s so delicate! Doesn’t David Austin do such wonderful roses? I’m a huge fan. Interested by your question of a name for your blue geranium. I thought it looked exactly like one I have, which, although I don’t know the name, as it was a gift, I concluded was Geranium x magnificum. But when comparing it with “Johnson’s Blue”, I can’t tell the difference. I do know that magnificum only flowers once, in June, and can give autumn colour, which mine does. Can’t enlighten you further, sorry!

  24. Chloris says:

    I love David Austin roses, I just can’ t get enough of them. And when you run out of space there are always trees to be decorated.
    I always get confused with the different blue geraniums.

  25. Debra says:

    All so beautiful. It always feels so refreshing to ‘visit’ your garden. Love everything but the orchids … and that Clematis recta …. sooo nice

Leave a Reply

