The Lasagna Vegetable Beds in June.

The raised vegetable beds that I wrote a  post about earlier this year are beginning to look good. We have laid a membrane on the paths and laid gravel on them because they were looking a mess and weeds were growing on them.  So at last it all looks properly finished off. It was probably not a good idea to choose the hottest day of the year to do the job but never mind we survived and it is looking good.
IMG_9665
I don’t usually show photos of myself on this blog and I shouldn’t really show this one. I’m not looking my best. But perhaps you can forgive me looking  a tad dishevelled,  as I said, it was a very hot day, and I’m probably wearing too many clothes.

IMG_968height=
In the first bed there are courgettes growing with sweet corn and the next bed has asparagus. I am very excited about this as I have never grown asparagus before.
The small central bed has  strawberries.
IMG_9686
Some people are already eating their strawberries on blogs that I read, but these aren’t ripe yet. I’m delighted that they are such healthy looking plants though. I dug them up in the spring and they spent several weeks in a bucket waiting for their new home. They looked very sorry for themselves when they were first planted.
IMG_9668
The broad beans are ‘Crimson flowered’. I haven’t tried these before so I am interested to see how they will taste. They are certainly pretty.
I usually grow far too many potatoes and the Pianist is very fussy about which ones he will cook. The ones that collapse in the water are rejected. He likes firm waxy ones. It is probably a good thing that I could only grow as many as would fit in the box. But all the same I have grown three different kinds. ‘Royal Kidney’, ‘Charlotte’ and ‘Lady Christl’. Today I harvested the first ones. They are ‘Lady Christl’. I hope they will meet with the chef’s approval.
IMG_9699
In the first box on the other side there are carrots, shallots and parsnips. The parsnips had seeded themselves in the vegetable garden so I transplanted them, they are already large plants.
IMG_9694
Next there are salads. I have grown some lettuces and we have finished a row. There are mixed leaves and rocket and mizuna as we like spicy leaves. I use the leaves of the beetroots in salads and I will harvest the beetroots when they are small.
IMG_9672
In the centre growing up the wigwam I have runner beans and borlotti beans.
The small bed opposite the strawberries has herbs in it and next to it there is a box with french beans and mange tout.
IMG_9691
French beans seem to be caviare to slugs and snails and I have lost quite a lot of my plants to the little beasts.
It is quite a source of satisfaction to put snail shells on top of the bamboo canes ‘pour encourager les autres‘ and also to prevent me impaling my eyeballs. These aren’t home grown snails, although the ones here ought to be that size after gorging on my produce. They came from a French supermarket along with their former occupants in a parsley and garlic sauce.
The last box has baby spinach , rainbow chard and other brassicas. We have already started eating the chard and the spinach.
IMG_9684
IMG_9688
The Pianist has named my alter ego, Chloris.  She keeps turning up in different parts of the garden. She joined us for dinner on the terrace on Sunday, but I don’t think she’ll be invited again. The Pianist thinks she has a very disapproving look on her face. He was sure that she was counting how many glasses of wine he had. She was meant to have a smile on her face but somehow she ended up  looking po-faced. I hope she will scare off the pigeons.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to The Lasagna Vegetable Beds in June.

  1. pbmgarden says:

    The Crimson flowered beans are attractive. Fresh potatoes sound so delicious–I like the waxy ones too.

  2. Your raised beds aren’t looking good, they’re looking AMAZING!! Well done. I’m super jealous of the space. Enjoy!

  3. Jane Strong says:

    So cute! Why don’t people make more lady scarecrows? I love seeing other people’s vegetable gardens … the broad beans are so pretty. What amazes me is that you have all these things growing at the same time. Where I live in southern California USA brassicas are a winter only crop and asparagus would be long gone even before the corn was planted. But I can tell by the netting you have the same problems such as birds and rodents eating the vegetables. Such an interesting world!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jane, as this is the first year I can’ t cut the asparagus; it has to be left to build up strong crowns. Pigeons and slugs and snails are the worst pests here. The scarecrow is just for fun, the pigeons are quite unimpressed.

  4. Pauline says:

    Your raised beds are absolutely amazing and all your veg is doing beautifully in their new home! Love your tired lady, I’m sure she appreciates her sit down, its tiring work keeping all the birds away!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Pauline. She does look a bit exhausted doesn’ t she? I’ m not entirely sure she is keeping the birds away. I saw 2 crows in the garden this afternoon for the first time. Maybe she is attracting them!

  5. snowbird says:

    Hahahaha….I LOVE your scarecrow!!! Absolutely marvelous she is, disapproving face or not!
    Wow, your veggies are looking great, fancy having potatoes already. I didn’t have a single parsnip germinate this year so am envious of your beauties. I planted asparagus last autumn and nothing has come up at all, I hear you have to wait a year or two to harvest? I shall watch it’s progress with interest.
    P.s…..do you have a subscribe button?xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Yes the asparagus crowns are 3 years old so we couldn’ t cut them this year, although some creature has eaten some, I suspect the pheasant. Next year in theory we can have a small amount. The parsnip put itself in the garden from last year’s which went to seed. I’m delighted that you are following my blog. I’ m glad you worked out how to do it.

  6. snowbird says:

    I’ve subscribed….ignore that last bit.x

  7. I like Chloris, she has a fine sense of style. You should really be pleased with your vegetable garden, it looks fantastic. The strawberries especially look wonderful.

  8. Cathy says:

    The raised beds really do look good and Chloris fits in well there! 😉

  9. Julie says:

    My french beans are a slug and snail magnet too, I have just just sown my third lot. I grew crimson flowered broad beans last year, we enjoyed them on plot and plate and what a brilliant idea to use the snail shells as tops for your canes.

    • Chloris says:

      It’ s strange how much the slugs and snails love French beans. I ‘ ve always grown them and until this year they were an easy trouble free crop.
      I ‘m looking forward to trying the crimson beans.

  10. Kris P says:

    Your vegetable garden looks pretty as well as productive, Chloris. Since the chef is particular about what he cooks, perhaps he needs his own alter ego to supervise activities in that area. As Jane said, we’re rather out of sync with your production schedule, although I do have corn and beans coming on. Strawberries can remain in the ground all year here but lettuce and other salad greens would fry in our summer heat. My most exciting report is that it looks as though maybe – just maybe – my red seedless grapes will ripen on the vine this year before the birds devour them (even without a scarecrow!).

  11. I can’t believe it! If I hadn’t seen your post, building them a few months ago, I wouldn’t have thought it possible! How well it’s come on! I’m so envious! Ours looks so paltry – mind you, as usual, we were late again in getting started. Maybe we’ll catch up! Make sure you eat them all up! As for “Chloris”, she’s lovely – and someone else agrees. They’ve given her a red rose!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Ali. It doesn’ t matter when we start with veg, they get there in the end.
      Yes, the Pianist gave her a red rose, he is such a romantic.
      We will certainly eat it all up we eat loads of veg.

  12. Flighty says:

    It really is all looking, and sounding, good with plenty for you to look froward to. Snails have certainly been the bane of most gardeners this year.
    I grow lots of Charlotte potatoes as they are my favourite variety. xx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Flighty. We are pleased although as you say slugs and snails have been a terrible problem. We love Charlotte potatoes but the Lady Christl we had last night were delicious.

  13. croftgarden says:

    I’m impressed, but then I would expect nothing less than perfection in your garden, even Madame Chloris is very chic.
    Slugs seem to be in plague proportion everywhere this year! I was loosing so much That we had to resort to the nematodes. Slow acting but very effective and environmentally friendly too.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Christine, that’ s very kind of you. I’ ve never tried nematodes but I think I will next year. Coffee grounds are protecting my courgettes but I haven’ tt got enough for all the French beans which are suffering terribly.

  14. Best selfie I’ve seen in a while 😉
    Your veg look very healthy Chloris – you’ve both made a great job of the area and you deserve a fin harvest for all the hard work you’ve put in. Loving the snail shell cane tops – it sends the perfect warning I think. I hope those molluscs take heed!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Angie. So far the snails seem quite unimpressed with the empty shells of their brothers and cousins. But it gives me a certain satisfaction.

  15. You look just like I expected you too! Seriously all looks brilliant, worth all your hard work.

  16. Chloris says:

    Well to be honest, Gill I’ m not quite so full in the face in real life and my legs aren’ t quite so lumpy.. But then it’s well known that photos make you look fat. Also I don’ t normally wear such an expression of disapproval. At least I don’ t think I do.

  17. It appears Chloris has nipped one of your roses. If she is a romantic, she may be little help with the birds. Good job with the gravel; looks very tidy. What will the chef do with his waxy potatoes?

    • Chloris says:

      Her rose isn’ t a real one. The Pianist gave it to her. If he gave me artificial roses I would look as po faced as she does.
      The Pianist likes waxy potatoes for general use; freshly steamed with butter and mint, sauted, potato dauphinoise etc.

  18. Debra says:

    Thank you so much for the gorgeous pictures and laugh. =)

  19. Chloris says:

    I am beginning to wish that Chloris would stay put and scare the crows. She’ s getting above herself. It’ s beginning to be a bit unnerving the way she turns up all over the garden. So far she hasn’ t appeared in the house but I expect it is only a matter of time.

  20. Jane Brewer says:

    Chloris needs a boyfriend. With turnups as part of his personality lol

  21. Chloris says:

    I am thinking of making a companion for her. She looks lonely sitting there all by herself.

  22. bittster says:

    I’m concerned about where this will all end! Her friend will show up, she’ll shirk her pigeon duties, start filching her own glass of wine, and before you know it you’ll find her dozing during the day off in the shrubbery.
    The garden looks wonderful, something about well tended, sprouting vegetables always looks so promising to me. Shame on those snails, they really should have learned a lesson by now.

    • Chloris says:

      You are right about the scarecrow, I think I have created a Frankenstein’ s monster, I wish she would remember that her place is watching the veg.
      She makes me jump out of my skin when she keeps appearing in other parts of the garden. Someone round here has got a weird sense of humour.

  23. Robbie says:

    LOVE your garden!!!! I am so far behind on my reading since I am outside almost every time I am home, I don’ t spend that much time at the comptuer these days, visiting over the cyber fence, but boy almost missed your new potager! I read the part about the snail shells, before I read the part about how they are not the shells from your local ones, so I was STUNNED you had snails that big crawling in and out of your beds…YIKES…good to find out they are your local snails( phew). If they were that big I would not be going near the beds! Our snails don’t ahve shells, they are just little gooey blobs, but not too big.
    Love your alter ego!

  24. Robbie says:

    ooops meant “they are NOT your local snails….still stunned, can’t think straight-lol

  25. Chloris says:

    Well our snails are quite big and very destructive. It is a terrible year for slugs and snails this year.

  26. Your garden is so gorgeous and so much fun; I like the whimsy you introduced into the scarecrow.

  27. This veg garden is just fabulous! I love the snail shells. It’s a sample of the fate that awaits those blasted gastropods should they continue to steal your goods! Stuffed Chloris seems to be doing too much sitting down on the job. Does she also pull weeds and water? 😉

  28. alderandash says:

    Wow, this looks amazing! (Looks out of the window at own weedy veg wilderness and hangs head in shame….) I hope ‘Chloris’ keeps the pigeons away for you – I tihnk she looks rather contemplative!

Leave a Reply

