In a Vase on Monday. Pretty in Pink

IMG_9635
As my vase last week was all about ginger and marmalade, I thought this week should be pink, especially as the garden is full of pink roses. Some of these were already here and others I have planted. The large pink rose on the left is ‘Karlsruhe’, a modern climber with an old fashioned shape. It climbs up a yew tree and looks good against the dark branches. I have quite a few David Austin roses and the large soft pink rose, top right, is ‘Gentle Hermione’. I love  this rose because it is such a lovely colour, it has huge flowers and it is very strong and vigorous. Under it is ‘The Generous Gardener’ which is an excellent David Austin rose that I grow as a climber. It is free flowering and very healthy. ‘Anne Boleyn’ is a similar colour.  The dark pink is the Bourbon ‘Gypsy Boy’.

The other flowers are a Deutzia crenata ‘Pride of Rochester’,  Mimulus ‘Highland Pink’ which grows by the pond. There is a pink Penstemon: ‘Just Jayne’ and woolly silver Stachys.  The colour of the Thalictrum flowers matches those of the Stachys. The tall Linaria purpurea is useful in flower arrangements. It seeds around my garden very enthusiastically in both pink and purple.  A pink June flower arrangement has to have pinks in it. And I have added two laced ones.
IMG_9630

Thank you to Cathy at ramblinginthegarden for hosting this popular meme. I am gradually coming round to the idea of cutting my flowers, although only the plentiful ones. I couldn’t bring myself to cut a peony. Perhaps next year I will make a cutting garden.

Meanwhile, summer is here, the weather is lovely and I must go outside and join the Pianist for some serious gardening.
IMG_9615
He might be reading the paper but I shall be working very hard planning the design of my cutting garden.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Pretty in Pink

  1. jenhumm116 says:

    What a gorgeous arrangement – such abundance!
    I only get the purple Linaria in my garden, your pink’s so pretty, and the roses are stunning.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jenny, I will send you some seeds of the pink Linaria when they are ripe if you would like some. It’ s called Canon Went. Although who the Canon was and where he went to, I really couldn’ t say.

  2. Alain says:

    Beautiful – you can almost smell the roses. What is the bloom that look like a picotee dianthus in the upper right?

  3. Julie says:

    The best place to be on a wonderful summers day! Beautiful flowers in your vase too.

  4. Cathy says:

    Oh VERY pretty in pink indeed, Chloris! Reading what you say about the rose in your yew tree is making me think of looking for other possibilities here too, as the more roses I have the more i would like, particularly when I see the lovelies that other people post. And thalictrum – now THAT would have gone well with my blushing blooms today, so need to chalk that up for another week. This is another of the reasons I like this meme, picking up ideas from other people’s vases 😉 I am looking forward to some penstemon blooms this year as I seem to have cracked the pruning and have flower buds! The Pianist doesn’t look as if he is going to jump (roll?) out of his hammock and start constructing cutting beds the moment you have planned them, does he…? 😉

    • Chloris says:

      A girl can never have too many roses.
      Yes, Thalictrum would have gone really well with the colours you used in your vase today.
      I haven’ t mentioned the cutting garden to the Pianist. He has only just finished spreading the gravel between the vegetable beds. I have to leave a decent interval before I mention new projects. Anyway I can’ t see him getting involved with this one. But I might need his help for the pergola I have been brooding on since seeing the Laburnum tunnel at Bodnant. I’ m biding my time.

  5. mrsdaffodil says:

    Gorgeous bouquet! I have ‘Gentle Hermione’ in my garden–what a beauty, and no trouble at all. ‘The Generous Gardener’ is one I’ve admired for years in photographs, but I’ve never found a source for it here.

    • Chloris says:

      Both these roses are a really pretty colour and they are both really healthy and free flowering. They don’ t get blackspot either which is a real bonus.

  6. Flighty says:

    Very pretty, my mum would have loved that! xx

  7. Nice hammocks! For some reason, though, I always fall out of hammocks.

    • Chloris says:

      You wouldn’ t fall out of these. We bought them in Martinique. They know a thing or two about hammocks there. Once they come out, we don’ t want to go anywhere or do anything else. Ever. They are absolute bliss.

  8. Kris P says:

    A simply spectacular collection of pink! I know what you mean about hesitating to cut anything you don’t have in abundance – I share the same reservations, although I did cut one stem of my beloved “blue rose” for today’s bouquet. I’m also considering a cutting garden, which in my case means converting all or a portion of my vegetable garden for that purpose. So far, I’ve just interspersed some sunflower seeds among the vegetables.

  9. Chloris says:

    Thank you Kris, I’ve been looking at your amazing ‘ blue rose’. It is stunning, much nicer than an actual blue rose which would be a horrid thing, like those awful dyed carnations they sell in supermarkets. But the Eustoma is truly exquisite.

  10. pbmgarden says:

    Lovely arrangement featuring your many roses. I especially like the soft pink of ‘Gentle Hermione’ and the pink penstemon is quite nice too.

  11. Cathy says:

    Hammocks are extremely useful items of garden equipment essential to the creative process! 😉
    Love all your pink roses Chloris!

  12. Chloris says:

    It was lovely and warm this afternoon, I spent a very creative hour in my hammock.

  13. Wow! What an arrangement! This is my ultimate aim for a vase of flowers – one full of gorgeous, pink, blowsy roses! I have never managed it yet. The best I managed once was 3 different blooms. I’m loathe to cut them from the garden. I never feel I have enough! Most of the time they are “A+E” contenders – single flowers rescued from damage and placed in a vase. Inspirational!

    • Chloris says:

      I think a cutting garden is the way forward. Have you room for one? I am seriously thinking about one for next year.

      • It does seem to be the rage! I would love one, but the only available space is the “Allotment”, which is ” Mr Chefs” domain, and he prefers that area to be productive. At present, I’m trying to squeeze in a few spring bulbs there – let’s say, I’m working on it!

  14. Christina says:

    Lovely sumptuous pink, your vase today is so full of good things Chloris, I like the way the Deutzia crenata has such a differnt form and texture to the roses it somehow emphasizes their beautiful forms. Seems as if we are all wanting cuttings beds, borders or gardens. You have plenty of space to create one behind your vegetable beds. Where would you put the pergola? Christina

    • Chloris says:

      I would like a pergola at the entrance, leading you into the orchard with a cutting bed on the right. I like the idea of growing the Holbellia that I bought at Crug to scramble over it and roses of course.

  15. croftgarden says:

    The roses are lovely, but my eye was drawn to some of the other components, particularly the Penstemon and Thalictrum. Another beautiful arrangement.

  16. Debra says:

    A beautiful arrangement but I have to say: LOVE the last photo. hahaha

  17. Lucky you to have such roses. I imagine the perfume in the garden is heavenly just now. A cutting garden would be such fun. I always feel I am cheating the garden if I take a few flowers.

    • Chloris says:

      Roses are absolutely my favourite thing in the garden, I love them. I agree about cutting flowers from the garden. It always seems a shame.

  18. bittster says:

    I wish I could “like” this more than once! Our hammock has been propped against the back steps for a few weeks now. I need to either wait for another tree to grow or set the posts it requires. It’s a weird battle between thinking of the hammock as a relaxing paradise or a overly sweaty to-do project.

  19. Chloris says:

    Yes but just imagine the bliss once you’ ve tackled this particular sweaty project. There is nothing quite as wonderful as a hammock on a hot summer’ s day. Absolutely nothing

  20. Robbie says:

    stunning in pink!

Leave a Reply

