In a Vase on Monday. Bora da.

Today I am joining in with Cathy’ s meme and my vase has a Welsh theme because I am using my lovely new Port Meirion jug which I bought last week on a visit to Port Meirion. I have picked some showy, white  snowballs from my Viburnum opulus to put with some pale pink flowers of Weigela ‘Florida variegata’.  The trouble with the snowball bush is that the flowers are so heavy that they hang their heads. I wanted some at the top too but they wouldn’t oblige. These are both huge shrubs which were here when we moved in. I have added some pale green and white leaves of Cornus albaI have also used some tall flag irises and red campion; Silene dioica to give it a country look.  A spray of the early flowering Rosa hugonis, Philadelphus and honeysuckle give the arrangement fragrance.  I have also used a spiky pink Linaria purpurea ‘Canon Went’, some yellow Phlomis fruticosa and a dark purple Aquilegia next to Euphorbia palustris. I was tempted to pop in a couple of peonies but I couldn’t bring myself to cut  them.
IMG_9017

Last week we went to see this wonderful village in Wales. It was created in 1926 by Clough Williams Ellis who bought the beautiful promontory for less than £5000. He was an architect and designed a quirky Italianate village. It is familiar to anyone who saw the mysterious  TV series ‘The Prisoner’ which ran for 17 episodes and starred Patrick McGoohan.

The buildings are quite an eclectic mix of styles. Some of them were salvaged from demolition sites. Some have classical features, others are more representative of the Arts and Crafts movement. The whole village is charming and unusual.

This is the Town hall, also known as the Hercules Hall because of the statue of Hercules in front of it. It is an Arts and Crafts building which was designed to house the Jacobean ceiling and mullioned windows salvaged from a building in Wales.
IMG_8342
The next shot shows Clough’s favourite building: The Unicorn House which gets its name from the unicorn on the pediment. This building is built in the Palladian style.
IMG_8346
This colonnade dates from 1760 and comes from the Bath House at Bristol.  Clough bought it; had it dismantled and then reassembled on site.
IMG_8336
This quirky building; The Round House was used as Number 6’s residence in the Prisoner. The huge Echium pininana shows how sheltered this site is. I can’t get it to overwinter in my Suffolk garden.
IMG_8349
I love this old petrol pump with a painted pine figure head. The original was stolen in 1983 and this is a copy.
IMG_8344
The beach here is fantastic and there are wonderful views.
IMG_8363

This is just a taste of this fascinating place, it is well worth a visit.

The famous pottery was established in 1960 by Clough’s daughter Susan Williams-Ellis and her husband. I love my jug and when these flowers are over I shall use it for elderflower cordial.

Thank you to Cathy from ramblinginthegarden for hosting this meme. I am afraid my enthusiasm for Port Meirion has made me ramble rather from the topic of in a vase on Monday. But I wanted to show you where my lovely jug came from.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Bora da.

  1. AnnetteM says:

    Great post – glad you digressed. We used to love watching The Prisoner. Do you think the ball on the Hercules statue was the inspiration for that floating white ball in the series?

    • Chloris says:

      Maybe it was the inspiration; the floating ball is such a surreal idea. We have just bought the series of The Prisoner on DVD so that we can watch it all again now that we have been to Port Meirion.

  2. rusty duck says:

    Somewhere that is on my list to visit but not made it yet.. Susan Williams-Ellis has a rose named after her. It is the first to flower in my garden.. just coming out.

  3. Alison says:

    I have actually been to Port Meirion, many years ago, during a visit to my in-laws in the 1980s. Such a strange little place. My husband, who is English, is a big fan of The Prisoner. That was before I became an avid gardener, so I didn’t pay any attention to the plants there. That Echium is fabulous.

    • Chloris says:

      It was my first visit although I had always wanted to go, I never managed to get there before. Wales is so beautiful and there are some wonderful gardens there.

  4. mrsdaffodil says:

    Oh, the jug has butterflies on it, and a hummingbird and dragonflies! How wonderful. Lovely bouquet, and the photos of Port Meirion make me want to pay a visit myself.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you, I am delighted with my jug. I liked it so much that I bought one for my daughter as well.
      Port Meirion is certainly worth a visit.

  5. Kris P says:

    The jug is wonderful and the flowers complement it nicely. Thanks for the tour of Port Meirion as well – I remember watching “The Prisoner” so it’s great to have some background on that intriguing village (which I’d always assumed was a set). Now, if you could just provide a view of Doc Martin’s Portwenn…

    • Chloris says:

      It looks a bit like a film set doesn’ t it? It is a magical sort of place.
      Port Isaac in Cornwall, the real Portwenn is lovely too. Maybe next year we will go there. I have family in Cornwall so sooner or later we will be going to visit them.

  6. Debra says:

    I grew up on the Canadian prairies where everthing was new. One famous writer once said of my hometown: there is no there there. When I was a teen I took a trip to Europe and my life was changed. I will never forgot standing on a street made of stones beside a colossol arch and thinking: centuries! centuries of people have stood in this spot. I was so appreciative. It makes me feel wonder. I love how you know and appreciate the history and beauty of this place.

    • Chloris says:

      We went for a walk in the beautiful Welsh countryside and found a neolithic tomb dating from 2500-1000 BC. It’s at a place called Capel Garmon and is the most amazing ‘ tomb with a view’. It certainly makes you feel very small and insignificant when you visit a site as ancient as this.

  7. Cathy says:

    A beautiful collection of flowers, and I am so envious of your jug! One day I should love one of the Portmeirion Botanic vases and have looked at them again and again over the past few years! Nice to get some background info too. Thanks Chloris!

    • Chloris says:

      I am thrilled with my jug, it looks great with flowers but I bought it to serve elderflower cordial in when we have friends to summer meals in the garden.

  8. What a wonderful and fascinating place. When we first planned our trip to the UK I had hoped we would be able to get to Wales … but there is just too much just in the area around London. Maybe next time …

  9. pbmgarden says:

    Glad you shared your special jug and impressions of your trip. The flowers are beautiful and match the colors of the jug perfectly. susie

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Susie.
      I tried to leave a comment about your lovely arrangement but I think it went in to your spam because it disappeared. This keeps happening to my comments the last few days; I hope it will get sorted soon.

      • pbmgarden says:

        Thanks for letting me know to check for spam. I did have several, including yours Chloris, so will go read them now. WordPress must be tweaking something.

  10. Beautiful arrangement and the jug looks wonderful, humming birds my favorite.

  11. Thanks for the tour of this special place. You picked up a considerable local flavor along with your jug, which will make using it all the more special, don’t you think? Your color comb in the arrangement is very well done. As much as I would like to, I never join in the vase meme becuase I can’t bring myself to cut the few flowers that grace my shady garden. It’s fun to see what others do, though, and it gives me good ideas for store-bought blooms.

  12. Chloris says:

    I agree with you, Marian, I find it hard to pick flowers from the garden unless they are really plentiful. I felt my arrangement needed a dark purple Iris to match the Aquilegia or one of my peonies would have looked great but I couldn’t t bring myself to pick them.

  13. What a wonderful selection of flowers you have there! I feel a holiday to Wales coming on soon, as I also want to visit Portmeirion. I never really watched “The Prisoner”, but, like you, I’m sure I’d invest in a copy, along with some of their magnificent pottery, if I get there! Thanks for the preview!

  14. P.s. Bora da is Welsh for?

  15. Christina says:

    Lovely vase in both senses! It was also lovely to read about Portmeirion too. Hercules is holding the world, he took the work on his shoulders when he asked Atlas to enter the garden of the hesperides to get the golden apples from Atlas’s daughter. Often in garden situations when it appears to be a statue of atlas it is actually Hercules, you can tell because there will be some referance to the lion.

    • Chloris says:

      I had forgotten the legend, Christina. Atlas wouldn’ t take the world back so Hercules asked him to hold it just for a second whilst he put in a shoulder pad. Then he escaped with the apples from the Garden of the Hesperides; your garden. What a lovely name for a blog!

      • Christina says:

        Hercules is present in all the late Renaissance gardens near here (everywhere really). The references are part of what I teach about the gardens, I’m glad you like the link to my blog name as I very much like Chloris!

  16. I love the selection of flowers you have for your vase. Amazingly, despite living only an hour or so away, I have never been to Portmeirion. I always think it will be so full of visitors I wont be able to see it properly. I should take advantage of my closeness to go at very beginning or end of the day.

  17. Cathy says:

    I seem to have missed this post, Chloris – as you said, some of your stuff is going into junk/spam. Thank you for showing off your lovely new vase on Monday and reminding me of what a fascinating place Portmerion is – I realised that the Golfer has not been there before so that will be on our list. I love seeing the mix of flowering shrubs with other flowers, including the campion – increasingly I am looking at the garden with a Vase Hat on, and have some ideas simmering 🙂

  18. Chloris says:

    These different memes, like your In a Vase on Monday and Christina’ s foliage one make us look at the garden through fresh eyes which is really good. I would join in with yours more often but I’ m really mean about picking flowers from the garden. I put together imaginary vases though as I’ m looking at pleasing combinations. I used to have a cutting garden, but I don’ t have one here.

Leave a Reply

