Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day 15/4/14

It is the time of the month where many garden bloggers join with this meme hosted by Maydreamgardens  to show what they have in bloom on the 15th of the month. In April of course we have an ‘embarras de choix’.
IMG_7702
I haven’t shown anything of the front garden for a while.  This Akebia pentaphylla is a hybrid between Akebia quinata and Akebia trifoilata.  It is blooming on the fence which hides the bins. It is now scaling the lilac but it doesn’t matter because the flowers are quite a good match.
IMG_7700
I love this little shrub, Daphne retusa which is easy from seed . This is about 5 years old grown from a seed a friend gave me.
IMG_7706
I love Auriculas, well we all do, don’t we? The first ones are now in flower.

The stars of the front garden are the Pulsatillas at the moment . Some of them have already gone over. But these lovely ones are still happily blooming.

In the back garden on the inside of my wall, in the bed we didn’t reach on the last tour the first rose is out. Rosa ‘Canary Bird’ is always the first to bloom here.
IMG_7746
The Camassias are putting in their brief appearance in the large bed near the far greenhouse. The rose behind the sun dial is Buff Beauty.
IMG_7715The beds running along to the right of the garden as you stand with your back to the house are very shady so they are largely devoted to spring flowers which I love. My special ones here are the Trilliums. I know they are wild flowers in America but here they are amongst our choicest spring treasures.


The other delights at the moment are the Erythroniums.


I love primroses and I have lots of different ones. I love the doubles.


I am also very fond of the little Primula ‘Lady Greer’
IMG_7321
My favourite though is the irresistible laced variety Primula ‘Elizabeth Killelay’
IMG_7734
Here are some of the other flowers delighting me at the moment.


I think I had better stop now and leave some photos for another day. We are having such a wonderful spring and everything is looking so glorious at the moment that I wish we could freeze time for a while and stay in the moment.
To look what other people have in bloom and to show us your treasures go to Maydreamgardens and join in.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day 15/4/14

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Your garden blooms are inspiring. I especially like your Rosa ‘Canary Bird’.

  2. AnnetteM says:

    I do love these Bloom Day posts to see what everyone has flowering. I have been gardening for years and years, but it is only now that I am realising how little I know about all the different plants and varieties of plants that are out there. I love your Primula ‘Elizabeth Killelay’ – does anyone know how many different types of primula there actually are?
    I think I need a bigger garden!

    • Chloris says:

      I have no idea how many types of Primula there are. They hybridise so easily that the list is endless.
      I know we never have enough space for all we want to grow, no matter how big the garden is, it’s never big enough.

  3. Julie says:

    The spring sunshine is really moving everything along, your blooms look lovely. I have recently planted a bare root Buff Beauty, so nothing much to report yet, is yours in flower I can’t quite tell from your photo?

  4. Alison says:

    Happy GBBD! Interestingly, many of your flowers are also blooming here in the PNW right now. I love primroses too. Trilliums are wildflowers here, but they’re still quite choice plants for the garden.

  5. You do indeed have an amazing selection of plants. I love your lilac and your yellow rose – not too unusual perhaps, but wonderful anyway. The white Trillium grandiflorum is a North American wildflower, as Alison says, but it is uncommon in American gardens. It needs certain woodland conditions to thrive, and those conditions get increasingly harder to find. There are still a handful of places where you can find masses of trillium blooming in the wild, but you have to know the woodlands well. T. grandiflora is difficult to transplant and grows very slowly from seed. There are some easier trilliums, but they don’t have that gleaming, perfect white flower.

    • Chloris says:

      I would love to see Trilliums growing wild, they must be a wonderful sight. I have never tried growing them from seed. Perhaps I will have a go this year. They do make nice big clumps eventually. I have two big clumps but they are probably very old. I have had them for 20 years. And they were already well established then. I brought them with me when I moved.

  6. Cathy says:

    You have some nice little treasures there – those primulas for example, and trilliums too. Beautiful! A look around your garden has done wonders for me again on this very chilly day! 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you. Sorry to hear that you have chilly weather. I hope it doesn’t come here. We have had the most beautiful spring ever. The spring flowers seem particularly good this year.

  7. rusty duck says:

    Marvellous. Your Trilliums are forming good clumps. They last quite a while too as long as they are not frazzled by the sun. I was tempted by a companion for mine until I saw the price tag at Rosemoor last week – £16.99! Perhaps I should head west with a big suitcase..

  8. Chloris says:

    I love Trilliums, they do need to be in the shade. I have had mine for years, they were in my previous garden and I brought them with me. They never seed but the clumps get bigger ever year.

  9. Flighty says:

    Blooming wonderful! xx

  10. Chloris says:

    Thank you Flighty. We have all got lots of lovely things out at the moment. I can’t remember such a lovely spring as this. It’s heaven!

  11. Kris P says:

    What a wonderful spring you’re having! I wish the Trilliums grew here but, sadly, that’s not the case. A belated happy GBBD!

  12. Cathy says:

    You have treated us to some more glimpses of your garden here, Chloris – and I look forward to working out where you have all these beautiful blooms. Noticed your bench though! SO much to enjoy, isn’t there? Thanks for sharing 🙂

  13. Anna says:

    Beautiful April blooms Chloris. I noticed your bench too 🙂

  14. Chloris says:

    We have all got so many lovely plants doing well this year. What a wonderful spring we are having.

  15. No wonder you are enjoying your spring! You have so many beautiful plants in flower at the moment, some of which I’ve not seen before. The bench must be getting good use! My Akebia is flowering at the moment, and since I propagated a second plant to grow over one of my arches, it is now luckily at nose height. And lilac time is almost here as well. I love seeing round your garden – thank you!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Ali. I have never tried propagating Akebia. Did you layer it or take a cutting?

      • I layered it, but unintentionally! A stray stem, crawling along the ground, had rooted itself, so I dug it up and replanted it next to the arch by our “Choc n orange” bed, which keeps the theme going. A lovely and fortuitous addition!

  16. Chloris – it’s been a pleasure having a peek in your garden this April. Your P. Elizabeth Killelay is looking great and as you said on my blog – not so widely grown.
    I tried Trilliums for the first time last year and am gutted to see no return this year. I can’t help but wonder if it was just the wrong year to give them a go – it was way too hot here last year and certainly wasn’t the norm. I’ll not give up though and try again when I get over this loss!
    You have some beautiful plants – the Camassias are a new one on me – they make a lovely display.
    A belated Happy Bloom Day!

  17. Chloris says:

    I hope you will have more success with your Trilliums, they are worth persevering with. Camassias do best in shade in a position that is not too dry. I love them but unfortunately the flowers don’t last very long.

  18. bittster says:

    Holy primroses! I forgot about your little addiction, they look great. You have so many treasures all about, this must be a great time to wander the garden looking for the latest to open.
    The pulsatillas are nice too. I’ve sown a few pots of seed this winter and I’m hoping to have enough luck that I see a bloom some year soon(as if I have even sprouted any yet!)

Leave a Reply

