Long Shots of the Garden

These are photos taken by my son with his super-duper camera. Unfortunately it was a dull, cloudy day and getting quite late, but it is a good way to get a feel for how the garden is laid out.

QQ4B0244
So this tour starts on the terrace outside the back door. The clipped silver foliage on the left is Pyrus salicifolia ‘Pendula’ which is easy to clip into a neat mop shape which I have done. If it wasn’t so close to the house I might let it weep.
QQ4B0252
You can see the grassy path on the far right which leads into the orchard.
QQ4B0327
In the photo  above we have walked down now and we are looking back towards the house. If you go round the corner on the right you will find the terrace and summer house. On the left is an old pond. We will just walk down the orchard and look back. I am not going to say too much about it right now as I intend to write about it in another post.
QQ4B0269
I like the idea of having broad paths curving through the daffodils and later wild flowers here. But the Pianist who mows seems to prefer isosceles triangles. Next year I will lay out hose pipes to suggest winding paths and  perhaps we can get away from the geometric look. On the far right is  my new look potager, a project that has been taking up all our time and energy for the last three weeks. I will write about in another time. Now we will make our way back to the pond on the left.
QQ4B0283
It’s looking a bit scummy at the moment because of pollen from the weeping willow.  This is the view towards the summer house. Let’s walk round and look back towards the orchard.
QQ4B0287
This is one of many old apple trees I have which I love. I don’t know whether the moss does them any harm but I think it looks lovely. You can see some ground elder round the base of the tree. It’s the bane of my life. You can get back towards the house by walking past the old greenhouse under this tree. When we get a good apple crop the glass gets broken. Whoever put the greenhouse just there didn’t think it through.
If we walk on past the sheds which are old stables and not fit to be seen we find a lovely old wall.
IMG_7409
It’s a good place for the Vicar to sit and wait until I walk away so that he can get back to the fun job of biting the heads off the Fritillaries.
On the other side of the wall are two more venerable old apple trees and lots of Hellebores in Spring.
IMG_7639
If we carry on down a bit we come to the gate which I designed for my previous garden. I’m afraid we had to have to have the opening in the wall made a bit bigger to accommodate it. The blossom is on the greengage tree.
IMG_7467
Just a little further on and we find the lovely Tropaeolum tricolor which survives the winter with the protection of the wall.
IMG_2996
If we walked on down here we’d come to the other greenhouse but that is enough for today. We haven’t looked at the spring treasures on the other side of the wall but that will have to be another day.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Long Shots of the Garden

  1. Pauline says:

    What a wonderful garden you have, so many different areas for different plants.
    Love your gate, I too made a gate into the pond area (our grandsons were only tiny at the time we made the pond) but mine was carved out of wood as I taught woodcarving at night school.
    I have really enjoyed wandering round, can’t wait for the next instalment!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Pauline. I didn’t realise that you taught wood carving. What a wonderful skill to have. Lovely to have your own carvings in the garden.

  2. Robbie says:

    more stunning photos of your beautiful garden! I just love how it flows, and your gate you designed is truly beautiful..hmm..I have used “beautiful” too many times! I switch to gorgeous gardens + gate! Your potager off in the distance looks exciting! What a “drop-dead” looking bird( had to find another word for beautiful! + is that his name “Vicar” or is it a type of bird? It looks pheasant like, is it? Your property is stunning!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Robbie. He is a pheasant but I call him the Vicar because of his white dog collar and he reminds me of a vicar, except when he is pulling the heads off Fritillaries. I have never seen a vicar do that.

  3. Jane Strong says:

    Oh, the gate! the gate! I love it … the web, the froggie,the pierced blossoms, how wonderful! What’s the yellow-flowered shrub in the background of the moss-covered apple tree? So nice of you to post this garden tour so I can vicariously enjoy spring in your country from my chair in front of my computer. Thank you so much. When is tea served? (Smile.)

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you. I had a bench made to match the gate but I forgot to show you that. The yellow shrub is a Forsythia. Not very exciting but cheery in Spring.
      You will be welcome to a cup of tea and a slice of cake if you ever find yourself in this part of the world.

  4. Debra says:

    Ah. So lovely, everything. I noticed some kind of hole in the old tree. Does anyone live in there I wonder?

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Debra,I ‘m not sure if anyone lives in that hole I must keep an eye on it. I do have a birdhouse nearby which I think has a blue tit nesting in it.

  5. Kris P says:

    Chloris, it’s a lovely garden and I felt as though I was walking along, getting a guided tour. The gate is a masterpiece and the Vicar was a nice touch (even if he is a naughty bird). I’ve never seen a Tropaeolum like that – is it annual or perennial?

  6. Chloris says:

    Thank you Kris, I have enjoyed a lovely tour round your garden and I feel I know my way round it now. The tropaeolum is a perennial which grows from a tuber.

  7. rusty duck says:

    Love the Tropaeolum, must investigate that. It was lovely walking around your garden and meeting the Vicar. They seem to like high vantage points, lord of all they survey. The ground elder is a pain here too, not as widespread as the bittercress but much more difficult to extract. Look forward to hearing about the orchard!

    • Chloris says:

      The Tropaeolum is gorgeous if you can find one. It dies down in summer.
      I was worried when I saw your bittercress, it all looks as if it will pop very soon. The ground elder is an on-going battle. I have defeated it in some areas, I think.

  8. Cathy says:

    The thatched roof I had in mind must have been an idealised memory – or perhaps it was the style of the property that deceived me 😉 Thank you for the tour – it really does help to put things into perspective although of course a map is the next thing that is needed (tee hee – I do like looking at maps)….. You have some lovely features to work with, haven’t you? Now, you throw in a picture of your lovely gate, casually mention that you designed it but then just leave it (not the gate) dangling there, without elaborating…. Elaboration required, m’dear – please….. 😉

    • Chloris says:

      I think maybe it was a thatched roof originally because it is a very steep pitch. The tiles have clearly been there for centuries.
      I designed the gate years ago and found a local blacksmith to make it. I brought it with me when I came here. I had a seat made to match which I will show you another time.
      I like maps too. I might have a try, when I have a bit of time.

      • Cathy says:

        Thanks for elaborating, Chloris – and I look forward to the map 😉 It is great that the blacksmith was able to put your design into practice – and made me realise that I could ask the blacksmith friend of a friend to construct the support I want for my wayward fatsia

      • Chloris says:

        Oh yes, the Fatsia that you keep in a cage. I remember it, with its leaves like claws that look as if they might grab you as you walk past.

      • Cathy says:

        That’s the one!!

  9. Julie says:

    Chloris, this is a lovely walk though your beautiful garden, nice photos too. I laughed at your Isosceles triangles comment, looking forward to seeing more.

  10. Chloris says:

    Thank you Julie. I am afraid he does it every time; nice neat angles and the whole area divided up into triangles.

  11. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful property Chloris. You must spend many hours outside gardening.

  12. bittster says:

    I didn’t realize you had so much space! There are so many interesting areas, the orchard and greenhouses are a surprise. We sure did move faster with the camera in your son’s hands….. but no nice closeups!

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, several people had asked to see more of the garden because I don’t usually show it. I was keen to get the tour out of the way so that I can get back to showing my flowers.

  13. I love the wide grassy path and the meadow with blooming Narcissus. And the iron gate with the spiderweb design is wonderful, very creative! Your gardens must give you a tremendous amount of pleasure.

    • Chloris says:

      It certainly does give me great pleasure, I love it. But then all the garden bloggers that I have come across are a bit obsessive about their gardens. We work in them, think about them and write about them. Anyone who is not a garden lover would think we are quite mad. We are a bit like stamp collectors or train spotters but without the stamps and trains.

      • The correct word, I believe, is “dedicated”. Dedicated, not obsessive. And plants are certainly better than stamps, though I admit I am also partial to trains.

      • Chloris says:

        Sorry.Dedicated . Of course, that is the word. I must tell the Pianist, he’s got it all wrong. I am dedicated.

  14. Cathy says:

    Your garden really lends itself well to a tour… the paths and curves leading from one area to another make it so interesting and I am curious to look over that wall, through the gate, behind the pond etc… That’s a large area to tend, and you have done so beautifully Chloris!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you, Cathy. It would be be nice if we could give all our blogging friends a proper tour of our gardens so that we could see round the next corner and over the wall. So many garden visitors are really unsatisfactory and walk around without really seeing anything because they are too busy talking. Garden bloggers are the sort of people who take a real interest.

      • Cathy says:

        You are so right Chloris. I don’t know anyone personally (except for my Mum) who is so “dedicated” to their garden and am always disappointed when visitors say they want to see the garden and then barely glance at it while walking around! I would love someone to say “Oh, what a beautiful Clematis x jouiniana Praecox you have there. Has it flowered well for you under that acer palmatum?” Or something similar! LOL! 😉
        Have a good gardening week!

  15. Thanks so much for part 2! What a splendid garden you have! Your “walk round the estate” must take much longer than mine! I really love your gate. It had to move house with you and the disruption was well worth it! Looking forward to part 3! Oh, and now I know who the vicar is!

  16. Flighty says:

    What a delightful look round your lovely garden. That’s a wonderful gate and as for that pond… xx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Flighty, the pond is nice at the moment but it is a bit of a problem area. I don’t know why it sits in such a deep pit. As I said I have newts but no frogs. I wish I knew where they have all gone.

  17. croftgarden says:

    Thank you so much for the garden tour. The very epitome of an English garden with some outstanding plants (and planting).

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you, that is kind of you . This is a very old house so it is important to plant the garden in a way that suits it. I try and keep to the idea of a cottage garden. That suits my temperament, I’m not keen on formality.

  18. alderandash says:

    Ooh this all looks so lovely – what a wonderful gate! I admit that I scrolled too fast and missed the photo of the pheasant first time round, so was momentarily taken aback to read that your Vicar has taken to climbing into your garden and biting the flowers…Did a bit of a double-take!

  19. Chloris says:

    Oh what a wonderful image. I l love the idea of our vicar perching on the wall and waiting for me to go so that he can bite my flower heads off. I almost wish it were true. It would be fun, except perhaps I couldn’t shout and curse so blasphemously if it was the real vicar.
    The pheasant is so called because he wears a white dog collar and is very dignified.

  20. Christina says:

    I so enjoyed my walk around your garden and I’ll be back for some of the posts I’ve missed because they don’t arrive! so you are home and I’m coming to Suffolk after Easter, it would be wonderful to meet. Christina

    • Chloris says:

      I have this problem with some of the posts I follow. Suddenly the posts stop coming through and I have to refollow them. How nice that you are coming to Suffolk. Let me know when you will be here. It would be lovely to meet.

Leave a Reply

