Anticipation

Paeonia rockii: Gansu Mudan Peony,

Wordless Wednesday.  2.4.14

Paeonia rockii: Gansu Mudan Peony.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Anticipation

  1. Flighty says:

    My mum loved peonies and had several in her garden. The only downside is that if it’s wet and windy the blooms sadly don’t last long. xx

  2. mrsdaffodil says:

    I’m so impressed that you grew this from seed! I’ve seen Paeonia rockii in full bloom at the Botanical Gardens at the University of British Columbia (in Vancouver). It is glorious. I do hope you will post another photo when the flower opens.

    • Chloris says:

      I shall certainly be showing you the flower and that of the other one I have grown which also has a bud but not quite so far on as this one.
      It is not difficult to grow it from seed, it just takes patience.

  3. Debra says:

    6 years! Outstanding.
    I LOVE peonies. I almost sunk into a deep depression when I found out I couldn’t grow them in Texas.
    heh The bud bears a slight resemblance to Seymour! I have no doubt the bloom will be magnificent though. Hope you will get a shot to share. =D

    • Chloris says:

      Sad that you can’t grow peonies; they are such sumptuous flowers. I will show you the flower when it opens . As you can imagine I keep checking it obsessively all the time to see how it is coming on.

  4. Wow! Your anticipation must be immense, waiting 6 years! It’s not one I know – what colour is it? Please show us when it flowers!

    • Chloris says:

      It is a tree peony found by Joseph Rock in China. The true Rockii is white with a deep maroon flare at the base of the petals. I bought the seeds from Chilterns and I suppose the bees may have been at it so I don’t know what to expect. I just can’t wait!

  5. AnnetteM says:

    I love peonies too and keep looking out for a lovely deep red one that we had in my garden when I was a child. I can’t wait to see this one flower. I think I would have built all sorts of protection around the bud in case anything happened to it!

    • Chloris says:

      This a tree peony and should be white with a maroon blotch. I hope it is too tall for the pheasant to graze on but I am keeping an eye on it.

  6. sueturner31 says:

    Looks very interesting …please post when it blooms..

  7. Chloris says:

    I certainly will!

  8. Cathy says:

    This is so exciting for you, Chloris….. 😉

  9. Chloris says:

    It is and she is nearly there, it can’t be more than a few days.

  10. pbmgarden says:

    Chloris, can’t wait for the big reveal when this blooms. You must be thrilled after such a long wait.

  11. Chloris says:

    I can’t wait for it to open, I don’t think it will be long now.

Leave a Reply

