in a Vase on Monday. Homage to Wordsworth

IMG_7326
OK, so it’s not a host of golden daffodils and they are not the little native daffodils : Narcissus pseudonarcissus that Wordsworth wrote about, because these are over.   Never mind, I think Wordsworth may have liked these little species daffodils. I can’t remember what they all are but the white one in the middle at the top is lovely, white ‘Thalia’, underneath is ‘Pipit’ and the tiny one at the bottom in the middle is ‘Canaliculatus’. The white flowers are sprays of Spirea arguta ‘Bridal Veil’ and the golden leaves are  Physocarpus opulifolius ‘Dart’s Gold’.

Any floral homage to  Wordsworth must mention his beloved celandines: Ranunculus ficaria. He wrote three odes to the lesser celandine which he called ‘Prophet of delight and mirth’. He loved the celandine so much that it was engraved on his memorial plaque in the church of St. Oswald, Grasmere. Unfortunately, the sculptor made a mistake and carved the greater celandine: Chelidonium majus instead of the lesser celandine.

The celandines in my photo are Ranunculus ficaria ‘Brazen Hussy’ with large flowers and bronze leaves. This lovely celandine was found by Christopher Lloyd. The wild celandine is an invasive pest. I spend hours trying to dig it out of my garden but it is impossible to remove all the tiny tubers. Fortunately it disappears in summer so you can stop worrying about it.

It is a pity that Wordsworth is remembered chiefly for his daffodil and celandine poems because ‘The Prelude’ and ‘Lines written above Tintern Abbey’ are so much better.  Also I like this sonnet published in  1807.

                The world is too much with us; late and soon,

                Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers:

                 Little we see in Nature that is ours:

                We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon !

               The Sea that bares her bosom to the moon;

                The winds that will be howling at all hours, 

                And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers;

                For this, for everything, we are out of tune;

               It moves us not.–Great God! I’d rather be

               A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;

               So might I, standing on this pleasant lea,

             Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;

             Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea; 

            Or hear old Triton blow his wreathed horn.

Thanks to Cathy of ramblinginthegarden for hosting this meme. Why don’t you pop over there and see her lovely Rhapsody in Blue?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to in a Vase on Monday. Homage to Wordsworth

  1. Cathy says:

    Don’t they make a surprisingly good combination with all the different shades of yellow and white? I too like Thalia – but my jaw dropped when I saw the celandine until I read that it was your brazen hussy herself. I smile every time I walk through my woodland edge border because despite my thorough (I thought) removal of every tiny bulblet I found there is still a complete colony of the common stuff! I hadn’t heard that about Wordsworth and his love of celandine – nor have I read the sonnet, so thanks for that too.

  2. mrsdaffodil says:

    Lovely post. I knew some of the lines of the Wordsworth sonnet, but it was good to have a chance to read it all.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Mrs Daffodil. With your name I should expect you to like daffodils. Do you grow many different kinds?
      I love Wordsworth’s poems. My maiden name was Wordsworth so ever since I was a child I have taken an interest in and enjoyed his poems.

      • mrsdaffodil says:

        I do grow daffodils, though I just have a very ordinary sort this year–my first year in this garden. I grew some species daffodils in my “old” garden. They are all so cheerful, blooming as they do in the early spring.

  3. Pauline says:

    What a fantastic selection of Narcissus you have, they make a lovely vase of blooms. I too am fighting a losing battle with the celandines in the garden here, I’ll never get rid of them all, but one can try!

  4. Annette says:

    This makes me smile, it’s so sunny and cheerful and I love the poem too. I’m quite at awe at the range of daffs you have and I’m sure it’s not all!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Annette. You are right I do have a lot of different daffodils, I just love them. I can’t bear to pick too many of them. I really need a cutting garden because I hate picking things that look good in the garden.

  5. Kris P says:

    What a nice pairing of posies and poetry! The daffodils are beautiful and leave me wanting to add more to my own garden next fall – this year’s crop has faded into history. Thank you for tuning me into Cathy’s meme as well.

  6. Chloris says:

    Thank you Kris. I love your flower arrangements. Your daffodils are a memory but what gorgeous summer flowers you have. I am so glad that you have joined in with Cathy’s meme.

  7. Julie says:

    What a lovely post Chloris, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. You have inspired me too, I am going to grow a wider variety of daffodils in my garden, your white Thalia is especially lovely.

  8. pbmgarden says:

    Your collection of daffodils makes a beautiful arrangement Chloris. The celandines too are lovely, but a shame they’re so aggressive. I am waging battles with several tough plants myself. Enjoyed seeing this poem today, the first two lines of which I once used in a high school speech. susie

  9. Julie says:

    What a lovely display of daffodils Chloris and the spirea works so well with them. Thank you for sharing the poem – I know a little about Wordsworth as I originate from Cumbria, so have come across references to him in the Lake District (although I have not visited Dove Cottage). This week I have chosen tulips for my vase, but I have a number of later flowering daffodils in my garden so may return to them again before the season ends.

    I would be really happy to meet on 1st May at Wyken – lets put that in our diaries.

    • Chloris says:

      I have just checked out your arrangement Julie and as usual it is gorgeous. I love the tulip you have used. I think I shall grow it next year.
      Look forward to seeing you on 1st May. It’s in the diary.

  10. Anna says:

    A most becoming rhapsody of shades of yellow Chloris. I’ve been dipping into his sister Dorothy’s journals recently which are fascinating. Have you come across them?

  11. Chloris says:

    Thank you, Anna. I do have Dorothy’s Journals. It seems as if Wiiliam got the idea for The Daffodils from her. What a strangely intense relationship they had.

  12. That’s a lovely display – and I’ve taken a few tips from it! Like the sonnet – food for thought! Must go and have a look at Cathy’s site.

  13. Flighty says:

    Lovely photo and post. As you say it’s a shame that Wordsworth is remembered mainly for the daffodils. xx

  14. bittster says:

    Nice post and the arrangement is such a perfect blend of special daffs! I can even like your celadines although I’m glad they’re not a part of my garden 😉

  15. Chloris says:

    Thank you Frank. The celandine is the bronze- leafed ‘Brazen Hussy’ and she is more refined and not as invasive as the common one.

  16. A delightful display of Daffs accompanied by those celandine. I quite like celandine but I have to say I would prefer it if they stayed in one place rather than all over the Blooming garden. (sorry couldn’t resist that). Poetry too you have done a great job and I shall share it on my digwithdorris.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Dorris. I’m glad you liked it. Celandine Brazen Hussy doesn’t end up all over the blooming garden. It just stays in one place and the bronze leaves are lovely.

  17. Reblogged this on digwithdorris and commented:
    Here is another lovely vase to get you inspired for this week

  18. Pingback: Dancing With The Daffodils | Peonies & Posies

  19. Quick visit. Will return. Just to let you know you, your blog and your tree are on the list (and have been all along). Maybe you didn’t see them because it’s not in alphabetical order? (You are roughly level with the triangle sign advertising my other blog.) In the last few days I added that your tree is in Suffolk. Will return later to read your post.

  20. Chloris says:

    Thank you Lucy, and thank you for hosting the tree following meme. It is really enjoyable and all the tree followers are learning so much.

Leave a Reply

