Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day 15th March

The  Flowers that bloom in the spring tra la la...’ as Nanki Poo sang in The Mikado. I can’t sing it to you (luckily for you,) but I can show you. This is the first spring bloom day and with such an early spring we have  an ‘embarras de choix‘ of flowers to choose from.  Let’s start with some trees.

The one tree I could not be without is Prunus x subhirtella ‘Autumnalis rosea’. The dainty flowers are with us throughout the winter unless we get a really cold spell. Now in March it is giving its final fanfare. The Japanese apricot: Prunus mume is a lovely dark pink and flowers in February. It is a delight but it does not last long and it is already starting to go over. The little yellow clusters of flowers of the tree Cornus mas flower in February too. I grow the variegated one which looks good in summer too.  It has edible berries in late summer.

The star performers amongst the shrubs are the Daphnes. I mentioned ‘Jacqueline Postill’  in an earlier post. She is one of my favourite winter flowering plants. She is still going strong. She is now joined by the lower growing Daphne odora ‘Areomarginata’ This one is just as fragrant but blooms a little later.  The  rare winter flowering Lonicera ‘Elisae’ has flowers rather like those of Lonicera fragrantissima but they are much larger. This is a really lovely plant.

This year we spent most of February in the South of France to escape the English winter and inadvertently we found we were missing the English spring as well. I missed watching all my spring treasures coming out but it was a delight to come home last weekend and find  lovely, sunny weather and so many things in bloom. The garden is full of birdsong and Peacock, Brimstone and Tortoiseshell butterflies. It is absolute bliss. Here are a few of my lovely primroses.

These are positively the last hellebores and snowdrops I will show you this year. The snowdrop is the late flowering Galanthus plicatus which is at its best now.


Now spring is here we have to have daffodils and early tulips. I love the little species ones. Here are a few. Starting at the  top the daffodils are: Narcissus pseudonarcissus; the native one that Wordsworth saw a host of.  Next is the cute little species Narcissus ‘Rip Van Winkle’ then Narcissus ‘February Gold’ which always flowers in March not February. On the second row we have Narcissus ‘February Silver’, Narcissus ‘Jet Fire’ and then the delightful little Narcissus‘ Silver Chimes’.

Other spring delights are Pulmonarias. I started off with named varieties but Pulmonarias are very promiscuous so you end up with a mixture.

The winter flowering Iris unguicularis is still going strong but is now joined by its close relation Iris lazica which has shiny green leaves.


Here are more treasures which are in bloom now. They are: Chionodoxa luciliae, Corydalis  solida, Corydalis‘Beth Evans‘, Hepatica nobilis, Viola odorata ‘Sulphurea‘ Vinca minor f.alba ‘Gertude ‘Gertrude Jekyll’, Dens canis, Anemone blanda ‘White Splendour’ and Annemone blanda

By the back door in a pot there is  Coronilla valentina subp.glauca ‘Citrina’. It smells divine. it has spent the winter in the greenhouse but it probably didn’t need to. It has as its partner a pot of cheap and cheerful violas.


I will save some of my other treasures for further posts but before I finish this is what I am enjoying in the house.

Yellow Clivia

Yellow Clivia

Thank you to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for hosting this meme. Why don’t you join in and then go over and see what other bloggers have in bloom at the moment?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day 15th March

  1. AnnetteM says:

    What a wonderful spring garden you have! I am jealous as mine is still quite bare, though it is getting there.

  2. Alain says:

    What a wealth of beautiful things. Lonicera ‘Elisae’ does look beautiful. I will have to check if we can grow it. I always find it strange that Rip Van Winkle narcissus is an old variety. From the look of it you would think it must be a new hybrid.

    • Chloris says:

      You are right about Rip Van Winkle; if it was a new hybrid we would probably all sneer at it. But as it dates from before 1884 it is respectable in horticultural circles to love it. And I do. It looks endearingly as if it is having a bad hair day.

  3. Pauline says:

    What a wonderful selection of spring flowers, so beautiful for you to come back to! I don’t think any of my Erythronium are out yet, I must go and check. However Narcissus February Gold did manage to flower in February for the first time this year!

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, I think spring flowers are my favourites. This Erythronium is the only one out. I can’t think of its name. I will put it in if I think of it. The others are all in bud.
      I suppose my February Gold could have been out in
      February this year. I wasn’t here to see.

  4. Alison says:

    Wow! You have so much flowering. I’ve heard good things about Daphne bohlua, I bet it smells wonderful.

  5. Isn’t it wonderful how spring seems to start so slowly, and then just seems to explode? What a wealth of flowers you have shown us! I, too have a Coronilla glauca “Citrina” which has been in flower now, for over a month. It’s lovely!

  6. You have a great diversity of blooms. I am very jealous as my garden is still mostly brown. But spring is coming. Hope is alive.

  7. Cathy says:

    How can you bear to have been away at this time of year?! Look at all those beautiful blooms you were missing! I was impressed by a cornus like yours at Bluebell last week, and after the the belated success of my Lonicera fragrantissima I thought I might look for others, so will check yours out. Bluebell were able to tell me why D Jacqueline Postill was impossible to come by – previously available by micropropogation but the supplier ceased doing this (retired?). Someone else has very recently agreed to take on board sowing seeds of another daphne for grafting JP onto and plants may be available in about 4 years time…

  8. Chloris says:

    I know, we actually came home a couple of days early because I was missing the garden so badly. We have agreed that we will never go away for so long again. Bluebell is a very good source for plants. I didn’t realise that Jacqueline Postill was hard to find. I wonder if she is easy from cuttings as is Daphne odora Aureomarginata if it is done late June or early July? I will give it a try.

  9. Nell Jean says:

    So many glorious blooms to see at your place! Rip Van Winkle never liked it here and was finally taken over by Jet Fire and friends. I wish I weren’t afraid to plant a Daphne.

    • Chloris says:

      Daphnes have such a glorious fragrance, it is worth every effort to keep them happy. Even then they may suffer from sudden inexplicable death like chickens. With luck you may get a few years out of them. Go on, give them a try.

  10. Rose says:

    What a delight to see so many colorful blooms! Don’t apologize for showing more of your hellebores or snowdrops–they are a treat for my winter-weary eyes. Love that freckled hellebore especially. Spending a month in the South of France sounds heavenly, but I can see why you would want to get back home–there are so many delights in your own back yard!

    • Chloris says:

      France was beautiful and we enjoyed looking at gardens there but what I missed was spring bulbs. I never saw a single crocus or daffodil. That and the glorious dawn chorus of our spring birds. It was eerily silent down there apart from the odd collared dove.

  11. rusty duck says:

    Ordinarily February would be an ideal time to be away. I hope you didn’t come home to any storm damage. From your photos the garden is looking fabulous. I love the clivia. I have the orange one which is nowhere near as nice.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes remember last February? We had an endless winter last year. But at least we missed the storms while we were away and got back to find yet more fence panels down.
      The garden is looking great although in great need of attention. It will take me at !east another couple of weeks to bring it round.
      I love my yellow Clivia, it was given me by a very generous gardening friend

  12. bittster says:

    Wow. I have nothing to add, the primroses alone are enough for an entire photo album. You came back just in time!

  13. Linnae says:

    Everything is so lovely! I can hardly wait for daffodils here (I’m in the U.S.–Eastern Washington state.) I always miss my garden when I go on vacation, too. Happy Bloom Day!

  14. Kris P says:

    Spring has certainly found its way to your door! I don’t know what I envy more – the hellebores, the tulips, or the daphne. I divided and transplanted yellow Clivia from my old house to my new one and have yet to see a single bloom. (I’m pouting in case you couldn’t already tell…)

    • Chloris says:

      But you have so many glorious plants in bloom Kris. And you can grow Clivias outside. Mine has to spend its life in a pot. The friend who gave it to me grew it from seed. He has orange and yellow flowers and now stripey ones.

  15. Anna says:

    Oh Chloris what an absolute treasure trove to return home to! Your post has reminded me of a sad loss in my garden – primula vulgaris ‘Quaker’s Bonnet’. Himself is to blame. Must seek out a replacement. Jacqueline Postill does takes from cuttings – a friend gave me one a couple of years ago. Now can you guess what I’m going to be singing today!

    • Chloris says:

      Sorry about yet another ear worm. I will certainly try and take cuttings of Jacqueline Postill in the summer. Don’t forget to send me your address Anna so that I can send you the Walrus.

  16. Annette says:

    Isn’t it nice to get home to a garden filled with so many flowers, birds and butterflies, Chloris. My nurserywoman tells me Daphne don’t do well on our soil but I really think I ought to give it a try. I love all your dainty woodland flowers and narcissi – wo, what colour! Do the latter grow in borders or grass? I have Silver Chimes too…and all these beautiful tulips. Enjoy!

  17. Chloris says:

    Thank you Annette. It is wonderful to be home. Daphne is a temperamental plant anyway, I would give it a try. Cathy tells me that the very best one Jacqueline Postill is now hard to find. Good luck.
    Some of my species daffodils are in beds although as you know they don’t die prettily. I also have carpets of daffodils in grass in the orchard

  18. Joene Hendry says:

    Your many blooms bring us cold-climate gardeners visual relief from our long, cold winter. Thanks!

  19. Flighty says:

    A most enjoyable post, with lots of lovely colourful photos.
    I think that I might have some narcissus ‘Sliver Chimes’ which haven’t yet flowered. I especially like the the yellow clivia. xx

  20. Chloris says:

    The Narcissi are so early this year. I expect you will be enjoying your Silver Chimes soon.

  21. I am so jealous, especially of your Daphnes. I would like to have Cornus mas, it grows well in this area. Do you find that the birds will eat the fruit?

  22. willisjw says:

    What a wonderful garden and so far ahead of us in Maryland. My Daphne is on death’s doorstep after our very cold winter and your’s is a reminder of what it should look like. I love your emphasis on the little spring ephemerals like corydalis, hepaticas, and erythroniums. We should have those too with a few more warm days…

  23. Chloris says:

    I look forward to seeing your Spring treasures. I love the little woodland plants which are starting to bloom now.

  24. pbmgarden says:

    Such a treat to see your spring treasures Chloris.

  25. Chloris says:

    Thank you Susie. I hope your cold weather has gone so that you can enjoy your spring treasures too.

  26. Robbie says:

    breathtaking:-) too beautiful for words….amazing! what a diverse community of plants!

  27. Chloris says:

    Thank you Robbie, all my Spring treasures give me enormous pleasure.

Leave a Reply

