In a Vase on Monday.

Untitled_artwork

Today, I am joining in Cathy’s meme of In a Vase on Monday. As I am still in the grips of  Galanthomania, it has to be snowdrops.

IMG_5979

If you look at Cathy’s post and Annette’s too you will see that they are thinking on the same lines.  We are clearly all bedazzled by our lovely snowdrops.  Like Cathy, I cannot bear to pick any of my special ones but to my surprise I have got Galanthus nivalis out in some areas, they are very early. I have also picked some double ones: Galanthus nivalis ‘Flore Pleno’. The Forsythia, I picked a while ago so that it would open in water. I am sure everyone knows this trick which works very well with Ribes: Flowering Currant too. The Ribes will have flowers which are white if they open in the house and they look very delicate.

I have been very dismissive of Viburnum tinus on previous posts in this blog. it really does smell of wet dog when wet. I have left some bushes though, and I feel a bit kinder towards it in winter as the flowers are very useful for picking. I quite like Viburnum tinus ‘Eve Price’ as it is more compact and you don’t end up with such a monster of a shrub.

The silvery foliage is  Eucalyptus, of course, and the felty foliage is Phlomis italica.  I finished it off with a few catkins, a bit of winter jasmine and a sprig or two of winter honeysuckle for fragrance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to In a Vase on Monday.

  1. Cathy says:

    Look at you with your lovely delftware bulb planter/ displayer! Is it an original? I would love to have one but don’t think I have come across one in all our visits to antique fairs and such. Or perhaps I did and they were too expensive! It is absolutely spot-on for this arrangement which blends so beautifully together – I am a few weeks way from having any nivalis to cut, so yours must be in a really sunny spot. Nice to have all your extras too – we have one sprig of jasmine coming over the fence from next door which I have been eying up, and the sarcoccocca and winter honeysuckle, but nothing else yet. I read about the ribes too – sounds odd, but nice to know it’s true. Isn’t it meant to smell like cat wee though, which would go nicely with your damp dog, perhaps?!

  2. Chloris says:

    Thank you Cathy, I wish it was an original antique Delftware flower brick but I bought it at Highgrove. it wasn’t cheap but it was a tiny fraction of the price of an original. I do love it for flowers though.
    The forsythia comes out very quickly in water from tight buds. Ribes does have a strong smell which many people hate. I love it, it is like Proust’s madelaine for me; one whiff takes me straight back to my childhood.

  3. Anna says:

    What a glorious display Chloris – as Cathy says it blends so well. You should get a good few days pleasure from it. Is there floral oasis or water in the base of the Delftware brick?

  4. Chloris says:

    Thank you Anna, there is no oasis, just water. The brick has holes in it so it is easy to arrange flowers in it. It is wonderful to have snowdrops in flower to pick in January.

  5. Annette says:

    What a beautiful mix of foliage and flowers, Chloris! And as Cathy says the planter (?) is lovely too and goes well with the yellow. Never noticed that Viburnum t. smells of wet dog but will check it next time I walk past. 😉 Look forward to your snowdrop pics. Thanks for the mention and have a nice day 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      It only smells of wet dog when it is wet. Go and sniff it when it is raining. Yuck! I posted some of my earlier snowdrops earlier in the week but unfortunately I will miss the later flowering ones because I am going to France next week and staying for a while.. My son will come and stay here to take care of the house and the dog and I have asked him to take photographs of the snowdrops and other early flowers but I don’t know whether he will find the time.

  6. Peter/Outlaw says:

    A lovely and fragrant arrangement in a beautiful container. Thanks for sharing the promise of spring!

  7. Chloris says:

    Thank you Peter, everything is so early this year, it is quite easy to find plenty of things out for a vase. Next year maybe I will have some flowers of that lovely Camellia Yuletide that you showed us for my vase. I am looking out for it.

  8. Your “In a vase” articles are inspiring me to be a bit more ambitious with my indoor clippings. So lovely! Thank you

  9. Chloris says:

    Thank you. Kathy at Rambling in the garden has a meme: In a Vase on Monday every week.
    Why don’t you link up and join in on Monday? Do you know how to do links?I only learnt recently Cathy told me how.

  10. Lovely – the snowdrops go really well with the Forsythia. Have you ever tried the fragrant Ribes R. odoratum, which we call Clove Currant or Buffaloberry?

  11. Chloris says:

    I grow this nice yellow flowered Currant. It smells lovely. It is quite unusual for a Ribes.

  12. Christina says:

    What a beautiful display and it all works really well together. I didn’t manage to join in this week again, pressure of work, but I’ll try next week.

  13. I love this idea Chloris and thought I would give it a go.Take a look and you will see that I didn’t quite make it. Next time. D

  14. pbmgarden says:

    Chloris, your late winter flowers look so cheerful and the use of snowdrops make a bold statement. The form of the Viburnum adds a nice touch.

Leave a Reply

