Lose the lawn

When we arrived here just over three years ago the garden was in sad need of some tender care. My first job was to get rid of the many pointless little island beds in the back garden. Then  I turned my attention to the front.The garden was bisected by a garden path leading up to the door and on each side was a lawn.  This was surrounded by knobbly-kneed roses. R. ‘Iceberg’ is quite pretty but these bushes were well past their ‘Best Before’ date.

In front of the white picket fence there was a pointless strip of lawn too. What on earth is the use of a little bits and strips of front lawn? They had to go.  I dug them up. Under the lawn was a whole network of cherry tree roots which were hideously difficult to get rid of.  When I had finished I sat down and thought I might possibly die. The American garden writer, Martha Smith describes the feeling in her book; ‘Beds I have known’. There must be so many gardeners who will identify with what she calls ‘Planter’s Paralysis.’ The awful feeling you get when you realise that ‘you will never, ever rise again’ after you have used muscles that you were not aware you had.  Not only did I think that I would never be able to garden again but I thought that I would be welded to my chair for ever or else be condemned to crawling around on my hands and knees to the surprise of Pip, the dog who though it was some  exciting, new game.

In the place of the strip of lawn in front of the fence I put my collection of irises. Here they can sit and get there rhizomes baked by the sun and don’t have to compete with anything else for light. Unfortunately they have lost their labels as I have dug them up and moved them several times whenever I moved house. Some of them are Cedric Morris irises. The artist, Sir Cedric Morris lived near here and I have friends who gardened with him. Many gardeners round here grow his beautiful, delicate irises. I also have quite a few from the wonderful Cayeux iris nursery in France. These are big brazen ladies in sumptuous colours. I know they lack the elegance of the Cedric Morris ones but I don’t want all my irises to be tasteful. Their colours are absolutely gorgeous. They don’t last long and they need staking as they are so top-heavy but I wouldn’t be without them.  Here are some of my beautiful irises decked out in their glorious party dresses.

IMG_0528IMG_3095IMG_3098IMG_3162IMG_3166IMG_4261IMG_4267IMG_3165IMG_4259IMG_3172IMG_4195IMG_4266 IMG_4273 IMG_4197IMG_3099IMG_3131
If anyone can help me name my beautiful irises I would be very grateful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lose the lawn

  1. Oh, your Irises are so pretty! I miss the Irises. I’m not an expert on them though. Most of them look to be bearded Irises; maybe some Louisiana Irises (white, purple, orange?). Some lovely cultivars.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you for your comment. I have Lousianas in a damper part of my garden. These are all Iris germanica. I know the white one with an orange beard is ‘Frost and Flame’ but I can’t remember the names of the others.
      Chloris

  2. Pauline says:

    Your Iris are fantastic, so pretty and frilly! I only have a few, being on heavy clay is not the best place for them, but I do like them, so I keep trying. I too dug up at least half the lawn when we came here and found it quite therapeutic, I must have been fit in those days, I couldn’t do it now!

  3. Annette says:

    I’m glad you didn’t die, Chloris, and stood up to the challenge. Show us some pics of your plot 🙂 PS: Love your irises!

  4. Anna says:

    Sorry no ideas as to names but they are beauties Chloris!

  5. Chloris says:

    They are lovely, I just wish the flowers would last a bit longer. But they are worth waiting for.
    Chloris

  6. Bertie Booth says:

    I might have to donate my irises to you. I do love them but I think I need something which blooms for longer. Especially considering I have them growing in pots which requires watering most days. What would you suggest?

  7. Chloris says:

    I think you should give them to me.
    Chloris

Leave a Reply

