Winter Head Gear

ontheedgegardening blog is  responding to requests  to display  her new winter hat with ear flaps in her latest post.  So, not to be outdone- here, for the first time my genuine Transylvanian Shepherd’s Hat is revealed.

IMG_5477

Ok I admit Transylvanian shepherds have to be pretty tough and as they protect their sheep and fight off wolves and bears I don’t suppose they do it in hats with flowers on them.  But apart from the flowers it is a genuine Transylvanian shepherd’s hat. Well it is Transylvanian anyway. I bought it in Viscri in Transylvania this summer. It is lovely and warm.

Real gardeners don’t spend the winter curled up by the fire so I would love to see how other gardeners keep their heads warm. Please show me your hats. Don’t be embarrassed, they don’t have to be stylish. Funny would be good.

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Winter Head Gear

  1. Much more stylish than mine! I think I will have to decorate it and resubmit.

  2. lizjwells46 says:

    No you don’t need to decorate it. I told you it’s ‘Neat but not gaudy.’. You don’t want it to look gaudy. And anyway, the Cleopatra look suits you. It makes you look mysterious.
    Chloris

  3. I’ve just had a ball looking at all the photographs on your site. You have the garden of my dreams! As far as the hat goes, I don’t have anything nearly as cute as that, but I do have the Border Collie (named Fly and completely whistle trained to herd sheep). Does that count?? Susan

  4. lizjwells46 says:

    Thank you for looking at my blog Susan and for your kind words. I am impressed that Fly can herd sheep. The only thing my long-Jack Russell, Pip can herd is rabbits. He’s not very good at it though despite hours of practice .
    Chloris

  5. Anna says:

    What a pretty hat which looks most warm. Himself has a great desire to visit Transylvania after reading an epic novel set in that area. I rarely wear hats except for a floppy straw effort for gardening or at the allotment when it’s very hot.

  6. mrsdaffodil says:

    This topic definitely speaks to me. It is below zero, so it’s colder than it usually is in Victoria, British Columbia. Everyone has abandoned attempts to look stylish. I don’t usually wear hats, but yesterday I walked to the library which is only a few blocks from my house. As usual, I didn’t wear a hat. By the time I reached the library, I had tears streaming down my face from the bitter wind that was blowing in my face. I had to detour over to London Drugs where I bought a $10 hat, distinctly unstylish, but snugly fitting and warm. Ah, the relief of it! I will not be sending you a photo. 🙂

  7. Chloris says:

    Well, let’s be honest it is difficult to keep warm and stylish.at the same time. I am very pleased with my Transylvanian hat but it causes great hilarity when I wear it. Your winter seems to start really early, so it’s just as well you have your warm hat. We gardeners have to look after ourselves as we are always out in all the elements, getting frostbite in our extremities.
    Chloris

Leave a Reply

