Star Blooms of 2013

Now that the year is drawing to a close it is good to look back on some of the magical moments of the season. I will start today with my two favourite hardy orchids. They were so exotic and so gorgeous that I felt like having a party for them and introducing them with drum rolls and a trumpet fanfare. In the end I had to content myself with showing them to the Pianist who said vaguely: ‘Very nice dear’.  I also showed them to a passer-by who was walking her dog but she wasn’t very interested either.  And her dog took advantage of the situation by doing a big poo on the lawn which she pretended not to notice. It serves me right for showing off. But I’m going to show off now. So here they are.  (Drum roll.)

ImageCypripedium reginae

ImageCypripedium kentuckiense

I can’t take credit for these two beautiful Cypripediums though. I didn’t grow them myself and lovingly nurture them from infancy. I bought them. They were eye-wateringly expensive but I didn’t buy them both together; that would have been too extravagant. One I bought at the Spring Plant fair at Helmingham Hall. The other came from a nursery in Norfolk. They are notoriously tricky so if I can keep them going then I will feel justified in boasting about them.

These Lady’s Slipper orchids come from Tennessee and require moisture yet sharp drainage.I can never get my head round this oxymoron. If you have sharp drainage then how can it be moist?  Apparently Cypripedium reginae needs more moisture than other ‘Cyps’. Both of them need a mulch of composted pine needles- fine I can manage that. Cypripedium kentuckiense  grows on river banks and so should have been planted in river sand. Well it’s too late for that now, I’m not going to dig it up and replant it, they have very delicate roots. Besides where on earth would I get river sand?  I can see I am going to have endless fun and worry trying to keep these two high-maintenance beauties satisfied. But that’s what gardening’s all about .

If you would like to try growing hardy orchids then a good book on the subject is ‘Growing Hardy Orchids’ by John Tullock.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Star Blooms of 2013

  1. Pauline says:

    What beautiful orchids – absolutely fantastic! Will they survive the winter without protection?
    Many thanks for leaving a message, it was nice to hear from you!

  2. lizjwells46 says:

    Hello Pauline, thank you for looking at my blog and leaving a comment. At last I have an admirer for my lovely orchids! They are supposed to be hardy but very tricky and difficult to please, so we will see.
    Chloris

  3. rusty duck says:

    They are truly gorgeous. I hope you succeed!

  4. Angie says:

    Those are lovely – I do wish you success on pandering to their needs. Moist but well drained leaves me scratching my head too!

  5. They are truly beautiful…I love hardy orchids, and must start to plant some in the spring. I’m gong to put them on my list, thanks for reminding me.

    PS, I had quite the time tracking down your blog, I saw your comment, and wanted to visit, but for some reason WP says you don’t exist.

    Thanks so much for dropping by.

    Jen

Leave a Reply

